We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food and friendly staff...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasters Taco Emporium - CLOSED

Tasters Taco Emporium
91252 Overseas Hwy, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Tasters Grille & Market)
+1 305-853-1177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super food and friendly staff...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Went here whilst on holiday from Scotland. Took the recommendation from Trip Advisor before heading there and I can say I was not disappointed. The staff were very friendly, the portions a great size (not too large) and the quality of the food was excellent and very well priced.

My meal was topped off with Tasters famous Bread Pudding which was simply to die for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    75
    20
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Deserve being the most popular restaurant in Key Largo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

It is located in a strange plaza with a relatively small sign. However, their food is sososososo delicious!!!! The waiter was super friendly. We will definitely go back if we have a chance.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh, made in-house creative entree selections with fresh herbs cut on back porch and live music.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We loved all our selections. Kobe beef burger was amazing with a bacon ranch dip for fries. House made flatbread pizzas and a cheese tray that reminded us of Napa. Everything was absolutely delicious. It is located in a strip mall but if you sit out back you forget about that. The tiki torches and live music were a bonus. Oh, and the desserts were also fabulous and well worth itt.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This restaurant is located in a corner of a shopping plaza with low key decor inside and out so we were not expecting to find such top quality food here! I had read all the great reviews on tripadvisor but was still so surprised! There is a great selection on the menu and many of the dishes have an asian twist. There are also lots of healthy choices available too along with a fabulous array of wines and beers, It is pricier than the other places around here but the food is in a different league to these other places. It also doesn't have the air of pretention that some places serving this calibre of food have. Make sure to try the chocolate lava cake....absolutely amazing. The service staff were friendly and helpful without overdoing it. The only disappointment was that we went back a few days later planning another big meal, having eaten little all day in preparation for it...and they were closed for Halloween!!!Devastated!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco88
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“horrible experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Here are the things that made our 2 hour experience horrible:
1. Our waiter only came by twice (to drop off the food and to bring us the check)
2. Our water glasses were never refilled the whole time we were there
3. We shared appetizers dishes and they never brought us individual plates
4. It took 15 minutes to flag someone down to get our check, they claim they were "unexpectedly busy", but there were a total of 4 tables that had people the whole time we were there
5. Here's the worst part - when we went online to check our credit card, THEY ADDED EXTRA TIP to what we originally gave. Thank goodness Chase was nice enough to get it back for us, but that is just bad and dishonest business practice.
With that said, the ambiance of the restaurant was not bad and the food was okay but overpriced for what it was. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone based on the service and the dishonesty of the place. HORRIBLE!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1GrapeGuy, Owner at Tasters Taco Emporium, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
I am very surprised by your review about your visit. When exactly did you visit us for dinner?
In reviewing your comments I wanted to make sure you actually meant to be reviewing our place and didn't accidentally click on the wrong restaurant.
We only have one waiter and as you can see from many other reviews, he's extremely attentive and personable, I've never seen him not bring extra plates when customers are sharing our small plates or not refill waters.
We have not had any chargebacks from our credit cards since I can remember. Generally most credit card companies hold 25% over the cost of the check to make sure the cardholder doesn't go over their limit and then readjusts to the actual amount once the actual tip is processed. Gas stations have a similar program set up when you authorize a card at the pump. It is virtually impossible for a employee to add an extra tip unless the reciept is illegible.
If you indeed did have this unfortunate expreience please contact me and I would be happy to pull up your reciept in our system and fix things so you can return and enjoy like 99% of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasters Taco Emporium also viewed

Tavernier, Key Largo
Tavernier, Key Largo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasters Taco Emporium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.