We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice quiet getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantic Bay Resort to your Saves list
Atlantic Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice quiet getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a small resort right on the water with a dock available, as well as Kayaks and paddle boards free to use whenever you like. I enjoyed our room (full kitchen) as well as the grounds. There are charcoal an gas ggrills available for use as well as picnic tables. For the area I think the price was pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: There are bungalow type rooms as well as a two story traditional motel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    54
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
60
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a beautiful place, right on the beach with amazing views and even better sunsets. It was impeccably clean and the beach is raked daily. The pool is good and it was great being able to borrow a canoe for a paddle round the bay. The owners were pleasant and helpful. There are no other facilities so you have to go out to find food or somewhere to go for a drink, but that isn't a problem. We had a great time and I would recommend it as a lovely, quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the Orchid Suite which was lovely apart from the noisy air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My room was clean and very nice. My only complaint was the pool. It was greenish and not very clean. I noticed along the water line on the wall of the pool it looked dirty. I ran my finger across and it had an oily dirty film. I got out quick and went down the street where my family was staying. They had a clean pool.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed the first two nights of a Key hopping holiday in the Heron Room. This room is advertised as "...cozy unit is for our budget conscious guests."

Our flight was delayed and we arrived late that night. There was a sign with a number to call on the office door and a kind man came to show us to our room. The room has been freshly painted in pleasing blue, tan and white colours. It is different then the picture on the website which has the old paint scheme.

It was very clean but a compromise room for sure. The door did not fully shut and did not have a deadbolt and could be jimmied open if one knows how to do that sort of the thing. It was a long narrow room with the bed at one end, a table and 2 chairs centrally and then the closet and bathroom. There were 2 different plastic hangers and 1 wire hanger in the closet. Not an easy space to furnish. There was not one side table next to the bed hence no place to put ones phone. There was very little horizontal space to set up luggage, just a folding stand. Moving some decorative items off a small chest of drawers allowed for another space. The windows had mini-blinds but they were all off center and thus had large gaps on the right side to let in light at night. The binds were attached on one side by a bracket but then screwed directly into the window header on the short side.

The grounds were nice though with ample common areas to enjoy the bay view and the folks running the place were super nice. I wouldn't think of this place as a resort. The suites are probably nice places to camp out in and that is the problem... why short guests on the experience with this odd room? A little effort to fix the door and blinds and have some custom furnishings to improve the practical functioning of the space would help a lot.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was a good size with adequate cooking facilities . Decor is very dated but very adequate. Good base for resting after long journey. Grounds are on edge of water -- best sunset photos of entire Florida trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great little niche place. Not going to wow you with top of the line stuff in rooms. Perfect location. Peacock was a neat center piece. Pool was great. Upkeep of property is on par with best around. Quiet!!!!! Will be back! Food is local too and great!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Go to Key West and spend a couple of days on Duval St. and then when you are worn out go to the Atlantic Bay Resort in Tavernier to rest and recover. It is a beautiful place on the Bay.

Matthew and Kay will ensure that you have what you need. Free use of Kayaks. Boat dock. Beautiful sunsets every night. Couldn't be better.

Room Tip: Room 17 and 19 Caribbean suite right on the beach. Nice porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Address: 160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.