We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Quiet Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantic Bay Resort to your Saves list
Atlantic Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Quiet Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Came down from a semi-business trip in West Palm Beach where we stayed at a large luxury resort so we only got to spend two nights at Atlantic Bay but would have loved to stay longer! We had a beautiful beachfront room; it was wonderfully cozy but well-appointed. Beautiful little beach with a great pier for enjoying views of the water and incredible sunsets over the Gulf (which you don't get at other places that face the Atlantic). Spotted dolphins, small nurse sharks, a small barracuda and various other smaller fish in the water immediately in front of the property and around the pier. It was a quiet and peaceful little piece of paradise with a personal touch. The owner and staff were great, extremely welcoming and helpful with recommendations for places to eat (Chad's and Snapper's were our favorites!) Loved that all the rooms had refrigerators and kitchenettes for snacks and drinks. Can't say enough nice things about the place and the owner! Even though the place seemed to be completely booked, the other guests seemed to also be looking for a quiet and relaxing experience, as a result we felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time! Although we'd like to keep this place a secret, we had to share what a great experience we had and we hope Atlantic Bay Resort is around for many years so we can come back regularly.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 17 which was beachfront, but frankly any of the accommodations seemed good and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    52
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
90
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been staying at the Atlantic Bay Resort for years for a romantic interlude or just hanging with family. Normally it is quiet, private and uneventful but on occasion there are visitors with a different agenda. I highly recommend it for its great views, location and usual serenity.

Room Tip: Ocean view and deck, preferably covered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Grounds are beautiful but there are No elevators. The Bed was terrible. The air conditioner did not keep the room comfortable. Very old baths and mattresses. It's a Really dated property. It's on the gulf side not the atlantic side. Not a big beach area.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor No elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We especially loved watching the sunset from the beach. Absolutely beautiful!!
One suggestion would be to update the showerheads, they are old and don't work well.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comments about this property
Really nice cottage with nice view of water. Quiet and comfortable and also private. So glad we stayed here rather than larger resort!


Tips for other travelers
Try to get a cottage!

Room Tip: We really loved the privacy of our own cottage, each of which had a comfortable covered porch or pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Comments about this property: Lovely location, friendly and helpful staff. Matthew was particularly helpful in finding and printing boarding passes for our United flight the following morning.

Tips for other travellers: Chad's Restaurant, just up Sterling Lane, on Hwy 1, is very good for breakfast and lunch. We didn't try it for dinner.

Key West is a 2 1/2 hour drive, so allow enough time for a day tour there.

Room Tip: Cabins are more private, but also cost more. Rooms in upper floor don't get footsteps from abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time to the Keys and could not have picked a better location. This place is a must visit for families and couples alike. Everyone is very respectful and the place is amazing and well kept. We traveled without the kids this time for a romantic getaway and it was perfect. We will bring the children with next time. We did not eat out much because we had a kitchen in our room and we utilized the grill on site. It is located in a very quiet area. It is also a short trip north to Key Largo. Great place to Vacation
Tips for other travelers
Kayaking and one paddle board loaner are included which is a major plus as this is what we did most of the time.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Address: 160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.