We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS GOOD AS IT GETS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantic Bay Resort to your Saves list
Atlantic Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“AS GOOD AS IT GETS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed two weeks and enjoyed every minute. Others have covered the virtues of this establishment and it is all true. There is little to gripe about. In fact I,m stuck for any negative comment. Perhaps a curtain to screen the bedroom area would have been handy as I retire earlier than wife and light shines through from sitting area. AC a tad noisy. But thats it. Everything else just perfect. Kayaks whenever you fancy a great plus. The peace and beauty of ABR make it a winner. Don,t hesitate if thinking of booking. Oh and did I mention sunsets?. A nightly spectacle not to be missed.

Room Tip: Groundfloor efficiency suited us just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    45
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
48
74
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights in their cheapest room. It worked for us-comfortable bed, microwave, coffee pot, refrigerator. It was clean and roomy. The grounds are beautiful here with palms and beautiful little peninsula with seating and places to eat. Their pool was quite nice too. I loved that we were able to walk to a corner restaurant, Chad's, which, while not fancy, had a good breakfast and pizza & quite a diverse menu.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

- Very bad phonic insulation : we could hear neighbors in restroom

- very bad ventialtion : we could smell neighbors's cigarette

- No sea view contrary to the bungalow description

- especially very very expensive compared to quality

- Wifi : slow flow

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place is just right. It is an older facility, is beautifully maintained, very quiet and comfortable. They have a lovely beach which is groomed each morning, a swimming area, and a really nice pool. Also, pretty grassy areas, white gravel drives, huge shade and palm trees, and a place to sit and watch the sun set in the evening. Our room was upstairs in the efficiencies, and while it wasn't fancy, it was very comfortable and roomy. It seemed to me that it was decorated just the way I would have had I done it, with just the right colors, artwork and touches. We had a full kitchen, and enjoyed not having to go out to a restaurant for our meals. We wish we had booked this place a few nights longer.

Room Tip: For waterfront, choose Room #1 or 2. In the efficiencies, choose an outside upper room for a very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice small resort on bayside that was very clean and quiet.
Cottages 1 and 2 have best view of bay and sunsets in my opinion, with tiki hut patio with table, 4 chairs and 2 larger chairs on each cottage. Maid service daily was nice.
Plenty of seating areas in sun and shade on beach, with pool open till 11 pm, and 3 kayaks available.
Bestart of the stay was the Manager letting us check in early since the cottage had not been used the night before! Nice deli within walking distance close to resort.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay but because of the cooler weather would have appreciated a heated pool. I also would have liked a stove in the room and on-sight laundry facilities. The location is good for activities in key largo.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited in mid-February and stayed in cottage #5. It has some view of the water and actually was ideal because it was cooler than normal (60's) and the location gives you a break from the wind off the bay. Cottages #1 and #2 have the best water views (and no one can park in front of their place and block the view as in #5), however, you get the full wind on your outside seating area.
I did some simple cooking that worked out fine on the "hot plate" type electric burners. BTW, they do not get as hot as a regular electric stove, but I cooked chicken and eggs successfully. Also note, they do not stock paper towels, tissues, napkins, salt and pepper, etc. Publix is about 15 mins north (without traffic) so stop there if you can't bring those items yourself. They supplied two small pots, a skillet and cooking utensils. There are a lot of grills around the property, both charcoal and gas.
Part of the reason we wanted the kitchen is because of our dietary restrictions. Publix has a well stocked gluten free area and plenty of frozen GF breads and even muffins (both Udi's). They have fewer frozen GF meals. The restaurants in the area with GF menus that we ate at are: Marker 88, Sundowners, and The Fish House Encore.
In returning to the Keys we will definitely return to this location. It was clean, quiet and the king size bed as awesome. Matt was kind enough to bring us a foam mattress for my son who was sleeping on the pull out bed. That helped his comfort a lot. There was no heat in our place (they usually don't need it!) and we were able to borrow a heater for overnight when it got into the 40's.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Address: 160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.