We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantic Bay Resort to your Saves list
Atlantic Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Atlantic Bay as a couple for one night in Jan 2015. This is a lovely peaceful place to stay. We really enjoyed the free use of the kayaks to explore the little bay and nearby mangroves. The room was clean and spacious (was an oceanfront room). No food onsite but we ate breakfast and dinner at Chads which is just a couple of minutes walk away and recommended. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    38
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This past trip was the forth for my wife and I to Atlantic Bay over the past ten years. Our last trip was two years ago (2013) and there have been several upgrades by the new owners since then. The improvements to the cottages were very nice. The only complaint I have is that there are now no cook-tops or ovens in the cottages as before. One of the things that appealed to us the most was the ability to cook our own meals if we chose to. They are equipped with a full size refrigerator, but now only have a two burner hotplate and microwave. We also missed the peacocks that were there in the past. I would also like to put a plug in for Matt who was very helpful and cordial.
Overall, we still love this getaway and will certainly get back there as often as we can.

Room Tip: Cottage #1 and 2 have the best view of the bay. #3 has no view of bay and 4-6 have ok view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I had a lovely weekend at the Atlantic Bay Resort. The room was the perfect size for a couple and the property was well maintained and clean. The location was superb and we loved the beachfront area and free use of kayaks. We plan to make this resort a regular stay as we visit the South Florida area frequently.

Room Tip: We stayed in the small building, but the cottages looked delightful and the property manager said th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful location. Very quiet, lovely grounds. Great accommodations. Kayaks to use on the bay. Staff very nice, Matthew was very eager to please and availible. VERY clean, good beds.
Felt safe there. The other guest were respectful and quiet, which was so lucky as we are big readers and early to bed kind of folks. Very good for price.
This is not a 5 star resort where you have extreme amenities: we needed to buy tissues, paper towels , we asked, and got, an inside rug, the kitchen is just do-able but who’s cooking? The WIFI (free) we could only get on the covered porch.....but its very, very nice for the price.
The bay is quiet. We took the kayaks (no charge) out and drifted along to look at coral. We spent most of our time one the beach area, that was raked and cleaned several times a day to read or just watch the waves. Manatees were bobbing up and down, boats to watch....starry nights!
Wonderful, relaxing, quiet, clean, perfect location, helpful staff. A jewel!

Room Tip: the cabins 1 and 2 have a view that no one else can park in front of, the efficiencies are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the cottages for 2 nights, we were very lucky in that we got cottage 1 which had a great view of the resort and the beach.

The cottage was very clean and spacious and had good facilities, a big fridge, couple of cooking rings, microwave and full set of dishes etc.

The also have a small swimming pool which means if your like me and love to look at the sea but don't really like swimming in it you have the choice.

There is a local dinner (Chad's) just at the top of the road about 2 mins walk away and although it doesn't look the best the food was great, massive choice in the menu and if you don't want to cook at all you could eat in or carry out from here for breakfasts, lunch and dinner.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort by far has been my favorite resort to stay at. The front desk staff was beyond helpful and the room was perfect. The rooms are very clean and cozy. A perfect location right on the beach and close to local restaurants, etc. I can't wait for my next visit, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 5 nights over Christmas at this resort--which we chose due to other glowing Trip Advisor reviews. It is truly a lovely, peaceful spot--with nice chairs down by the water for a wonderfully relaxing place to sit and read a book or have a meal. The rooms were very clean and the kitchenette had everything we needed. The only downside of our stay was that the WiFi did not reach inside either of our rooms during our stay, although it was very good around the property. We also enjoyed all our meals at Chad's, which is a very short walk. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: If I had planned this trip sooner, I would have booked the cottage that is 2 bedroom suite directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Address: 160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.