We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Bay Resort to your Saves list
Atlantic Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Jensen Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I made some last minute plans to go to the Keys and happened on Atlantic Bay by using Trip Advisor. We booked a long weekend over the Thanksgiving holidays. We wanted something on the water where we could see the sunsets. This place was perfect. Not only was it quiet, it was comfortable. We felt as if it was our own little spot. We did see a few other couples there but never heard a peep out of anyone. Our room was private and right on the water. I mean right on the water. You would have to be on a boat to be any closer. If you have a boat, you can launch it there and keep it there. If you want to kayak, they have kayaks that you can borrow right there. This place was perfect!

Room Tip: Choose a room right on the water. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
44
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I were here for a long weekend for a wedding. There are no food or drink amenities, so prepare ahead and bring what you would like to keep in the fridge. There is a kitchen in each suite. THe suites were clean and bright. The view is pretty. The beach is man-made on the bay side of the keys.
It took about two hours from Fort Lauderdale Airport to drive here. We then went to Publix after we checked in which was about a 10 minute drive back north. The publix made our stay much easier as we got water, snacks, beer.
The rehearsal dinner was Friday night and the wedding was Saturday, so we ate with the wedding events that was all catered food. We did go out for lunch or breakfast to the little pizza place on the corner. This was walking distance so it simplified the food situation.
The wedding ceremony was beautiful. We faced the bay and the party was right on the sand next to the ceremony. We had a blast.

Room Tip: It seems all the suites are the same except for the special ones used by the bride and groom, weddin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, FLorida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great little place in the upper keys. If you are looking for a nice, clean quiet place for a vacation, this would be a great choice. Reasonable rates, updated rooms, wonderful staff. I would highly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: They have several types of rooms. It is set back off the highway right on the bay and is peaceful an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were looking for an affordable place to spend 4 nights and came across the Atlantic Bay Resort on Trip Advisor. Highly recommend! Free wifi, parking and kayaks, great clean pool and 2 lovely little beaches to relax on. Most rooms not just the cottages have views of the water and it's great value! Very quiet, walking distance to Chads restaurant (you got to go there!) and overall a fantastic few days. Great for couples and families alike. Hopefully we'll be back soon to enjoy more time here!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we arrived late at night with the keys awaiting us. We stayed in an efficiency which was roomy and well equipped. Super clean! Great quiet getaway with a quaint tiki hut private beach to watch the beautiful subsets. Close to everything!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived around 4 Thanksgiving day and our room was ready with no issues checking in. We had no idea what we were in for as this was a shot in the dark kind of selection for us. We normally stay at well known resorts. To our delight this was a very comfortable, relaxing, place. Our room was a large suite as close to the water as you could get, without being in the water. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was large enough for both of us. We truly felt like we were on our honeymoon. I would recommend this place to anyone that needs to relax. Oh and I forgot to mention the sun sets across the water could be seen on the deck right outside our room.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived late at night, but check in went relatively smoothly as our keys were left in the office mailbox (the office is not staffed 24/7). Finding our cabin was the most difficult part of arriving after dark as the number had fallen off the porch. Those could stand to bra bit more clearly (re) marked.

Note that all the cabin units don't really have bay-views... Some do, but #4-6 at least definitely face the parking lot. So sitting on the porches was nice, but with limited "good" views, and more looking at parked vehicles than anything else.

In terms of amenities, the cabins include a refrigerator, electric hot plate, microwave and coffee pot (standard hotel style coffee). TV channels were a bit lacking, but maybe this is par for the course in the Keys.

Watching the sunset was a common activity among the guests during our stay. FYI, it doesn't go "into the water" at this time of year, but we had a decent view nonetheless after walking down to the beach area.

Speaking of which, when it comes to swimming, the bay isn't really a viable option unless you don't mind wearing water shoes to avoid the coral and plants and whatever else lurks beneath. The pool was nice though, and we spent some time there.

Grounds are well-maintained daily. Staff arrives at around 9-10am with leaf-blowers, lawn-mowers and the like (in case you are a late sleeper, be aware). Daily room service will replace towels and toiletries.

Within walking distance, there isn't a ton. But I think this is expected for the Keys. The soda machine wasn't working during our stay, and there is no ice machine on the premises, so come prepared.

The cabin we stayed in was recently remodeled, but we had to ask for a bedside lamp as there were none at first. There also wasn't really any storage space to unpack clothes. And if you're planning on using the pull-out couch, forget about keeping it out and continuing to use the kitchen or dining area. Space is a bit of a premium here.

Overall, we had a nice stay, but given time in the area again I'd probably look for other options.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Address: 160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.