We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Keys Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Plantation, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Keys Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I were looking for a last minute trip to the Keys to spend a couple of days just relaxing and fishing. We did not want to stay at one of the larger hotels and wanted something small and quite and the Atlantic Bay Resort was perfect. It is located in upper keys so it is very easy to get to. The hotel is very small with a few cottages that are right on the water(bayside). We stayed in the Royal Caribbean which is a 2 bedroom 1 bath cottage with a living area and is on the beach/water. The rooms were very clean and the living area spacious. The man made beach was very clean and was raked everyday so it was clean with no seaweed that sometimes collects down in the Keys. The beach has a nice dock and small boat ramp that was perfect for our needs. My sister in law came down for a night and stayed in one of regular rooms and that room was also very nice. Again, if you are looking for a large hotel with all the fancy amenities this is not the place. If want a quite getaway, away from the crowds then the Atlantic Bay Resort is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    28
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gracious and helpful staff. Grounds are beautiful. The apartments are exceptionally clean. Fun for families, fishing, snorkeling and kayaking. I highly recommend ABR to family and friends. We have stayed here several times and never were disappointed.

Room Tip: Ground floor is most convenient for older folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the last 20 years, the Keys have been a second home for many of us in our extended family, so we were a bit nervous to try someplace new for a big wknd event. Happy to say the Atlantic Bay Resort did NOT disappoint and in fact, it surpassed our expectations and we've all decided we've found a new Keys home base! The rooms were delightfully charming, the view second to none, the staff very accommodating and meeting Ted, the owner, was a treat. He even sent flowers/balloons to the Birthday girls and helped upgrade a room for us-what a winner!

Room Tip: Wi Fi was finicky, so we just hot spotted our phone and good to go...but 'unplugging' wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first time at the resort and we hope to return for many more! For us its all about a relaxing laid back atmosphere and this certainly fits the bill. Sand, palm trees and comfy chairs overlooking the water made for relaxation at all times. The room was very clean, the a/c ice cold, the bed comfy and all who worked there very friendly. There was a ramp for our wave runner and a dock to tie up to. Beautiful sunsets topped it all off. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The regular hotel rooms have a separate sitting area and kitchen and are more like a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my second time this summer staying here! Loved it just as much the second time! Great dockage for boaters. Enjoyed the paddle boarding and kayaking. All with no extra fees! Ended each day with a beautiful sunset! This is a Keys resort so your not getting luxury! Just natural beauty!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This little slice of heaven was the perfect stay in the keys. Free kayak rentals and very cute beach and picnic area. Nice pool with a view of the water.
Our room was clean and the staff was so friendly. Perfect distance between Key Largo and Islamorada. Plenty to see and do within a short driving distance.
We will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had just flown in from Cuba so this was a really, really nice treat to be at Atlantic Bay Resort. But to be honest we could have flown in from anywhere it would still have been a treat. It really is a fantastic place...! We stayed in one of the little villas right down the front, by the water, its very peaceful, beautiful views and relaxing. The villas have all been recently updated so are in tip top condition. Goes without saying you are near to fantastic SCUBA as well. Would go on my top 5 list of places in the world to back to your sure.....! Oh, the sunsets are the best in the world!!!!

No restaurants on site, but great cooking facilities in all villas i assume (ours did), supermarket just down the road and some good restaurants near by (especially Cafe Mocca just over the road).

Room Tip: They have a couple of suits that we tried to book, but with a hiccup we ended in in Villa No.1 one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Address: 160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.