We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet and secluded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Atlantic Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Atlantic Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very quiet and secluded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Enjoyed my 3 night stay at Atlantic Bay Resort.
I found it to be very quiet and restful. I really liked
the layout of the secluded grounds.

I was their for diving and if you want night life it
may not be your place in the sun. The staff was
great and I highly recommend this
place for a restful
get away.

If you are there to dive the Florida Keys Dive Center
is 5 mins down the road and recommend them also.

Room Tip: You won't go wrong with any room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    82
    14
    7
    13
See reviews for
57
110
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not a 'resort' but a motel by a lovely strip of the ocean. There are no restaurants or cafes on site and in fact during the time we stayed there no-one in the office either! We arrived at 6:45pm (not exactly late) to find the office closed and the key taped to the door. The opening hours of the offcie are different in the off season but this was not made clear until we were actually in our room. On eventually managing to unlock the door to our 'suite' I was greeted witht the site of a coffeee maker standing on top of a microwave on top of a refrigerator. The windows could only be kept open with a piece of wood to prop them up - this was helpfully provided by the 'resort'. The whole room needed a good coat of paint - even the picute had mould inside it.
Never again. On checking out at 08:30 - again there was no-one in the office.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My family of four ( kids ages 10 & 11) had a lovely 2 night stay at Atlantic Bay Resort. We rented cottage #2 with water front view. The property was beautifully manicured, I loved walking around or just sitting in the perfect 'beach'. The resort was so quiet, tucked away in a neighborhood, staff very friendly, pool clean, shoreline area so tidy with chairs and nicely done. It was a pleasure to sit on the dock with the many chairs available and beautiful views. Our room was with kitchen (fully equiped), futon for the kids and king bed for mom & dad. The room could use a bit of a fix up with small details but we enjoyed it just the same. Office recommeded Chad's Deli on the corner where were picked up dinner nights and brought back delicious food to enjoy back at the Resort with a nice patio and waterfront view. We plan to return to Atlantic Bay with out boat next time. Very happy to find a small and cozy resort like this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and I have been staying at the Atlantic Bay Resort for two years for the opening week of lobster season. Atlantic Bay has a very nice dock with fresh water available, and can hold about 7 boats depending on the length. Dock space on the weekends is a little tight, but while we were talking with the manager, he mentioned that they are building a new dock and it should be ready by the time we come back for lobster season in 2013!

We always rent the efficiencies when we stay, and there is plenty of space to sleep a family of four, and the kitches are well stocked with pots/pans/utensils/plates/bowls/etc. There are grills available on the properly, but we always bring our charcoal grill so we can cook where ever we feel like. And there is an awesome tiki hut on the water, so you can cook out there, relax and enjoy the sunset.

They also have a huge salt water pool that is awesome to swim in after a long hot day on the boat. My sons both learned how to swim in this pool during the summer, and if they could, they would have slept in it!

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone (families or singles)!

Room Tip: If you are doing a lot of diving/fishing, get one of the efficiencies on the bottom floor (7,8, or 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for three days last month and just loved. Danielle the girl at the office is just great. She was so welcoming when we checked in and new just what to recommend while we were in town. The properity is located on the gulf of mexico and has a beautiful layout. The best part of or stay was just being able to relax on the beach next to the water whenever we wanted. Danielle never hesitated to ask us how we were enjoying ourselves when we saw her and really made us feel like this was a place we could call home while we were on vacation. thanks Danielle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at beginning of September and loved it!! Ok, the rooms could do with renovation, and air con very noisy, but the location made up for it. We spent hours sitting relaxing on the private beach, watching the boats go in and out from the private jetty. Loads of cool fish to look at, and saw a 3ft shark swim by in front of me! Our second night was even better as the weekend crowd went home and it felt like we had the place mostly to ourselves :0) We didn't want to leave! and dont get me started on the sunsets! WOW best pics of our road trip! We will definately be back, hopefully the rooms will have been given some TLC by then. We stayed on upper level of "tropical efficiency" block, and it was great, with a kitchen, dining area, living area and large bathroom. I wouldnt waste money on the waterfront rooms as the beach was very close to us. Loved the peacocks too! Thanks for an amazing stay !!

Room Tip: Go for the efficiencies and save yourself some money to spend in Chads bakery for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, NY
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

After having spent 3 days in Miami Beach and 2 days in Key West, we were looking forward to some relaxation in the upper Keys before returning home. Loved lounging in the chairs on the private beach, however there were ants on the beach that started crawling all over us and biting us. We fixed that problem by putting towels on the chairs before sitting down. Also loved the private location, yet convenience to restaurants. The office was closed when we arrived, but the staff enclosed a wonderful list of restaurants in our envelope with our room key. We ate at 2 of the recommended locations and were not disappointed. The only disappointments were that there was no door on the bedroom and also, we had requested a 1st floor unit but were given a 2nd floor room. This was difficult for me as I had recent surgery Since no one was in the office when we arrived, we were not able to change our room. Also the price was great. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Atlantic Bay Hotel
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier
Address: 160 Sterling Road, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.