We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatly Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Green to your Saves list
Inn on the Green
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 East Burleigh Boulevard, Tavares, FL 32778   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tavares
Loretto, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Greatly Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We've stayed here in the past (approx. 5 times in the last 4 years) ,as this is one of the only locations that will take dogs. The hotel was a ghost town - I counted only 4 other vehicles in the lot when we returned later that evening. Room had been renovated, and appeared clean. When we turned down the bed, we found hairs all over all the pillows. Went to the front desk and asked for a set of clean sheets. Clerk was apologetic, and assured us that the room ahd been cleaned, but gave us clean sheets anyways. The housekeeper came by almost immediately, and was very apologetic. Staff was great, but won't stay here again...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthegreenfl, Webmaster at Inn on the Green, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Inn on the Green during your visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and take the observations for further improvement.

We have taken steps to check and ensure the overall amenities and cleanliness of the rooms are perfect before checking in a new guest and the concerned staff has been given the required training.

We are happy that you liked the hospitality of our hotel staff.

We would like to invite you to once again choose us during your next visit and have a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    1
    6
    10
See reviews for
20
11
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagler Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I generally prefer a quaint "old Florida" place over a chain, so chose this while a family member was in the hospital across the highway. Staff was friendly, rooms are large, and at some point an effort was made to capitalize on the features that you won't find in a newer place. The plantation shutter window treatments were a nice alternative to the usual motel curtains. Unfortunately, I have to agree with many other reviewers. the smell of mold made it impossible to sleep. The towels are the thinnest, cheapest kind. I thought the built in ironing board was cool until I saw the trash pile in the bottom of the cupboard. The bedspread and blanket were stained and torn. Cobwebs, dust, bloodnon the bathroom threshhold and a big gap under the outside door completed the experience. Too bad. The place has potential, but is in need of some serious cleaning. No wonder they chArge for early checkouts!

Room Tip: Check the room before you commit. Maybe upstairs rooms are less damp than downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthegreenfl, Webmaster at Inn on the Green, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Inn on the Green, Tavares during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate you for the review and also take it seriously towards improvement.

It is heartening to note your highlighted positive points about the property.

We have provided the housekeeping staff extra training to ensure the highest degree of cleanliness. They have been instructed to ensure the best hygiene and proper amenities before checking in a new guest to the room.

Rooms are checked thoroughly before checking in a new guest.

We hope that you will consider staying with us once again and have a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights at Inn on the Green and had a great time. The Front Desk staff were very polite and courteous. The house keepers were very friendly too. The rate was the
best in the area. will definitely come again

Room Tip: Pool Side is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The room was large and the pool was clean and the manager (owner?) was very helpful with directions. After that, it's a nightmare. There was blood on the bedspread. The sheets and towels were stained. I don't think they were dirty, just stained with who knows what. Jeez! Attack them with bleach or get rid of them! The room was vacuumed to within 2 inches of the edge, then the inch thick pile of dust appeared. Ditto to around the edge of the bed. The front of the dark colored vanity was splattered with white. It looked like paint, but when I wiped it with a damp towel, it came right off, which indicated to me that it was probably toothpaste from the prior guests' mouths. Yuck. So there I was, cleaning a motel room right after registering. I wouildn't walk barefoot, sit on the bedspread or blanket or the upholstered chair. The location, convenient to Eustis, Mount Dora and many restaurants, and price attracted us to this place, and reviews were decent. To get to our room, we went through an outside hallway/alley where the vending machines and motel laundry were. Even that looked like a slum and seedy with rusty equipment. Tiny tears in the curtains added to the ambiance.

Room Tip: Look for another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innonthegreenfl, Webmaster at Inn on the Green, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Inn on the Green during your last visit to our area.

We also appreciate your review and observations. Thanks for appreciating the hotel staff and the pool.

We have taken the following steps have been taken and we shall see that our guests get the best services and hospitality during their stay.

The Housekeeping staff received additional training in properly check and confirm the cleanliness of the rooms and amenities before the checking in of new guests.

The next time you visit our area, we invite you once again to choose our hotel again and feel the new experience of hospitality. We are sure you shall appreciate the change.

Regards,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have stayed at this motel multiple times and every time I have enjoyed the staff, clean room and very family oriented atmosphere & beautiful surrounding. Pool is great and best price for a large clean and safe room:)

Room Tip: All rooms are great but I preferred the pool and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

had issue with the first room but out of nowhere the cleaning lady (tessy) quickly helped us relocate to another room with a fantastic location near the pool for my kids. she also made sure to give us plenty of extra towels, blankets and pillows. her kindness and efficiency was much appreciated. would like to see the pool resurfaced but it was still warm, clean and enjoyable. would come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsboro.tn
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night just in town for a wedding.Had small children with us.According to recent reveiws this place is at least "decent'.Well i don't know what room these people received but upon get towels from the rack in the bathroom a syringe was found!!!!! CDC and health dept. need to visit places like this periodically to find out what type of establishment they are running.Apparentally looks can be very deceiving and on line info and pics are NOT always accurate!!! Stay at a well known hotel change and STAY FAR AWAY from sketchy motels such as this!!

Room Tip: STAY AT A WELL KNOWN HOTEL (i.e Hampton Inn) Not a sleezy cheap motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Green

Address: 700 East Burleigh Boulevard, Tavares, FL 32778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tavares
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tavares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Green 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn on the Green Hotel is Located in the Heart of Lake County, Central Florida, which offers Affordable, Elegant Large Rooms and Suites to Comfort both the Business and Pleasure Traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.