We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Restaurant

Plaka Restaurant
769 Dodecanese Blvd, Tarpon Springs, FL 34689-3131
727-934-4752
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 115 Restaurants in Tarpon Springs
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Apopka, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stopped in for a quick lunch just before our cruise on Sun Lines and enjoyed yummy meals (especially the avgolemono soup), served quickly with friendly service.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    38
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greene, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We ordered sandwhiches here to take on a boat ride. we decided on the fresh grouper sandwhich and it was delicious. It was a very large pice of fish and it was wonderful It was so good that I opted to not eat the bun and the vegies with it, I just ate the fish.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Gyro!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Platka has the best Gyro in the WORLD....enjoy with a cold beer and greek salad with potato salad. Can't be beat.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My mother and I took an out of town family member down to the Sponge Docks, and both of them chose Plaka after comparing its menu to various menus from nearby restaurants. Each of us had something different, and none of us left hungry or dissatisfied. The Greek salad - even without the potato salad - was huge and very tasty. The Gyro was overflowing with meat, and had just the right amount of onions, tomatoes and sauce. The Spanakopita appetizer was big enough for a small appetite at lunch, and was light and cheesy. This was our first visit, but won't be our last. Not only was the food special, but the wait staff was also solicitous and attentive. We enjoyed the casual ambiance, but it was the food that won us over.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamorada Fl
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“GREEK Answer to McDonalds (what their sign proclaims)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Whenever I'm in Pinellas county, I love to go to Tarpon Springs! Plaka is by far my favorite! Their souvlaki-gyro combo is my favorite! GIANT sized & loaded. A meat lovers dream! The pita is absolutely loaded & the chunks of grilled pork (souvlaki) are so tender & delicious. The tzaziki is plentiful & delicious. Their Greek salad is by far my favorite beets & garbanzos included. So much more to their salad then a sprinkle of feta & placing a pepproncini on it & calling it "Greek".I salad can be shared by at least 4 people! It is accompanied w/ an amazing bread w/ anise seeds - made fresh right around the corner at the National Bakery. Other favorites include the Saganaki (flaming cheese) spread it on that wonderful bread & the grilled octopus! Octopus is to die for! Crispy on the edges & tender in the middle, delicious. Service is fast, friendly & efficient.If a delicious gyro & fabulous fresh Greek salad is what you're craving...this is the place. I have been enjoying Plaka since the early 80's. My visit last week was as delicious as my first!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaka Restaurant also viewed

 
Tarpon Springs, FL
Tarpon Springs, FL
 

Been to Plaka Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.