We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boat ramp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A.L. Anderson Park

A.L. Anderson Park
39699 U.S. HWY. 19 N., Tarpon Springs, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good boat ramp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a very good place to launch your boat for a nice day on Lake Tarpon. There is plenty of parking with lots of dock space. Careful of the hydrilla when parking your boat on the shoreline. The only problem was the machine for paying the launch fee would not take cash, only credit. May have been full due to two tournaments at the same time.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holiday, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to relax and get an excellent view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is a great place to visit. They have a dog park area for your pal if you are so inclined. Go a bit further and on the hill you have a scenic overview of Lake Tarpon. Wonderful view with a breeze. Nice pavilion to have a bite to eat. This is just a lovely place to visit and relax. Additionally, you can bring a boat and cruise on the lake.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin, florida, usa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to spend an afternoon or a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a very beautiful park worthy of a best rating. On Lake Tarpon where fishing and boat rental (outside of the park) are available and well worth the effort and expense. Beautiful shady areas for picnicking, play areas for children of all ages. Shelters can be reserved for a group and are located in the most beautiful areas. Enjoy this park and thank God you are in Florida and in Pinellas County.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“alligators anyone?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well maintained county park. Heard you could see alligators here and we were not disappointed.
Short boardwalk trail along the shore of Lake Tarpon allowed us to safely view several small
gators. Also saw 2 bald eagles fly overhead. Several nice picnic shelters, playground, boat ramp
($6 fee),swimming area($5 parking fee/free if handicap permit).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for fishing, tubing, water-skiing, and picnics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Laker Tarpon: This is one of the nicest ramps to launch your boat or jet ski. The four ramps are a gentle slope into the water making it very easy to unload and load your watercraft. The docks were completely rebuilt a few years ago (replaced the wood with metal) and have wonderful rubber protective molding so you don't scratch up your craft as well as plenty of dock cleats to use. (Although, I did see that one of the corner pieces have come partially loose).
Ample parking and plenty of room to maneuver. There is a $6/day parking fee for your vehicle and trailer.
We have NEVER encountered a rude or discourteous boater on this lake.
Regarding alligators: Our personal experience is that we DO NOT swim from the bank and DO NOT get in the water anywhere near the grass or land. We always "look before we leap"!! We toss out the ski rope, my husband puts his skis on while sitting on the back of the boat, jumps in, I get the ski rope handle to him and he's up skiing in less than 5 minutes. When he signals cut, he drops the rope and I get back to him quickly (NO DAWDLING). Again, we do not get anywhere near the grass/land.
It is important to know that the mating season for alligators is April/May -- WE DO NOT GO TO THE LAKE.
The Park: nicely maintained, a number covered picnic areas that you can reserve, beautiful views of the lake, playground area, restroom, nature trails, and dog park.
Hope this is helpful. Obviously, we use the lake more than the park :-)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A.L. Anderson Park also viewed

 
Tarpon Springs, FL
Tarpon Springs, FL
 

Been to A.L. Anderson Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A.L. Anderson Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.