We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great in everyway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarpon Tavern

Tarpon Tavern
21 N. Safford Avenue, Tarpon Springs, FL 34689
727-945-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Florida's Newest Old World Pub. 30 Craft Beer Taps, Wine Bar, Lunch & Dinner, Live Music. Casual dining in a relaxed but sophisticated indoor and covered outdoor setting.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great in everyway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

atmosphere, selection, quality was all great. very friendly and professional
staff. Parking is easy, nice neighborhood.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    26
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Après-Biking Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

After building up an appetite biking on the nearby Pinellas Trail, a friend and I retired to to the Tarpon Tavern for lunch. Free parking was available adjacent to the Tavern.

I had fish tacos washed down with a Bell's Two Hearted IPA. The tacos-- there were two-- had a generous helping of mahi-mahi and guacamole aboard flour tortillas. Too generous to eat without a fork. The lunch included a tasty side of black beans and rice.

We ate outdoors, where classic rock and roll through the overhead speakers did not overpower our conversation. Recent remodeling added a roof over the outdoor seating area; exposed rafters and ceiling fans maintain the 1920s feel of the building.

Waitress Cindy was friendly and always on hand without being obtrusive, even though we occupied our table for quite some time. The owner dropped by to say hello.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice for a meal off the path”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This tavern is off the bike/walking path going through Tarpon Springs. It is not on the Sponge Dock area. The food was good and the prices were fair. The service was a bit too laid back for my taste, as it took a while to be recognized. Seating is in or out, which is nice on a beautiful day. If you want something a little less congested, at least it was on the day I visited, then this is the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Entering the tavern, we were impressed with the warm ambiance, happy conversations mellowed by the background music. Our ability to be served indoors or on the terrace added to the enjoyment; My friends and I were delighted with the extensive menu, included the variety of imported and local wines.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place with good beer, service ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The tarpon tavern is a fun place to hang out and grab a bite and craft brew. They offer a good selection of brews. The food, usually is very good. Unfortunately, they seem to get the orders wrong. Last time I ordered a chili and cornbread appetizer. Got a bowl of chili and crackers....they were out of cornbread. Time before, ordered a pretzel burger, got a regular burger. Again, they were out of pretzel buns.... Gee, maybe ask before changing my order. Service can be a bit sporadic. If you are in a rush or hungry you may not be happy. However if you are out for a fun night and a good time. This is a fun place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarpon Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Tarpon Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarpon Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.