We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun fun fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spongorama's Cruise Lines

Spongorama's Cruise Lines
510 Dodecanese Boulevard, Tarpon Springs, FL 34689
(727) 943-2164
Website
Improve this listing
Ocala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fun fun fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The day we went there was a small group of kids (22) that booked on the first tour of the day. Now despite their energy and enthusiam, the staff was great. Captains Mike and Mike made sure these kids had fun and learned something along the way. It was nice to walk on the beach, but awesome to see 3 pods of dolphins, one pod was actually jumping next to the boat. This was the highlight of our day. When we arrived we were offered a package which included lunch, a nice suprise which we took. We are looking forward to returning for a sunset cruise soon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    5
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Be sure it doesn't rain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was a family outing with eleven people. we paid over 200 dollars so in my opinion it is a little pricey for what you get. Before you head out to this trip just know that the times given for boarding the boat is just an approximation. We were told 230 but the boat actually came around 3. It does say on their website "approx. times". The only reason why this trip went terribly wrong was because it rained. We were told we should be fine because the time we arrived the rain was heading in the other direction so we boarded the boat. It was exciting for the kids to see the dolphins just ten minutes into the ride. Then the rain came and it started to pour. The boat was turned around. For what was suppose to be a 2 hour trip with a stop for 30 minutes on the beach. It was less than a 30 minute ride. It would have been fine with me if we got a full refund because we were really there to get to the beach to pick up sea shells with the kids. For the price and the fact that we could not get a full refund I do not think the trip was worth it. Paying two hundred to get soaking wet in what felt like a 15 minute boat ride was hard to swallow. There are two trips... one that was just a ferry ride costing about 15 dollars and the ferry ride with a stop to the anclote island which cost around 18 dollars for adults. I cannot remember the cost for kids.Melanie was the employee that took care of the payment before we got on the boat and I thought she was very nice but when we came back to ask her for a refund twice she kept saying she had to talk to her boss and although it might not be her fault..She was very helpful at the same time and didnt act like she cared at all.I think they should already have something in place to take care of situations like this. She told us to come back and when we did they had already gone...probably home.The next day we call back for a refund but told we cant get it unless they have the actual card paid with. we dont exactly live close by and also it would only be a partial refund since we didnt get to stop at the beach. She was going to do a partial refund and not charge us the extra beach stop refund total around 30 dollars. at this point we did not think it was worth it to drive all the way back there to get just 30 dollars back.if you do end up going on this trip be aware that there are other boats that can take you there. You aren't suppose to bring drinks on board because they want to sell you the drinks. they do have alcoholic beverages and three of us got margaritas which were really in small cups. you should just probably purchase a bottle of beer instead. Tarpon springs is a nice place to visit. Just know what you are getting into. It was just a pain to pay so much and have such a hard time getting a refund for something that you didn't really get to enjoy. I thought it was really unfair and they didnt care because they basically got so much money for doing nothing. They probably planned not to warn us because they knew that if it rained they could drive out for a few minutes, cut the trip short turn around and get all our money and call it a day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing gem in Tarpon Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We saw no less than 8 dolphins on this trip! EIGHT!!!!

The dockside staff needs some courses on customer service, but the boat staff was amazing! They did their best to get everyone a view of the dolphins!

You cruise around the gulf in search of the mammals, then head to his beautiful little island to collect shells! Well worth the $20!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had such a fun time cruising out in the Gulf! We went to a little island and collected seashells. It was fun having the sea spray hit our faces as we cruised along. Before that we had watched a really interesting movie about the sponge fishermen who were from Greece who immigrated to this area and made a life for themselves here. After the cruise we went into the gift shop which had so many interesting things for sell. Unfortunately we didn't see any dolphins, but we did look for them. After the gift shop we ate at a nearby Greek restaurant and I can't remember its name, but is was a charming little restaurant and had great food!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“major disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our local group had planned the cruise for our last outing before most of us returned north.
The excursion was set almost a month ago, prices and boarding times as well. The cruise line had been provided with contact phone numbers should they need to get a hold of us for whatever reason. No one did. Upon arrival for the 11 am boarding we were given several different versions of why the trip had been delayed until 1:15. No one seemed to know why we hadn't been advised beforehand of the delay and were extremely rude about returning some of the money spent. Our members are all over 65 and most in their 80's. Waiting that length of time in the heat and sun was not an option. A very disappointing experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spongorama's Cruise Lines also viewed

 

Been to Spongorama's Cruise Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spongorama's Cruise Lines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.