We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spongeorama

Spongeorama
510 Dodecanese Blvd., Tarpon Springs, Tarpon Springs, FL
727/943-9498
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums
Activities: Dining, Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This attraction features Greek sponge divers, Greek food and fun.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dolphin cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went on the 2 hour dolphin cruise and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, we saw a nesting osprey and several dolphins, the trip was informative and fun, would recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    19
    11
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our expectations were high for viewing Spongeorama, only to be a bit disappointed. Sure there were sponges not the biggest selection as claimed, but way over priced for the area. If you walk across the street the shops are selling the same sponges for 1/2 the price. Small museum was basically a place that described the history of tarpon springs but was rather tacky although it's free. So disappointed in our expectations not being what we thought it might be...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sponges and a very old dirty museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place is a must even if it's only for a laugh. They show a movie of sponge fishing that must be 50+ years old. Interesting but dated. Museum is incredibly cheesy and the windows to the exhibits could use a good washing. Thousands of sponges for sale as souvenirs and I guess they are useable too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Go for the shock value of it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

When i was a kid this place was a fun school field trip spot. It looks as if they havent changed, or cleaned anything in there in 50 years. Its like something out of a Rob Zombie movie! I think it would make a good haunted house for halloween! Go for the shock value! i think its free so you cant loose!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A great tourist trap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Yes, it's a tourist trap & I even live here, but I love it! Lots of cool gifts and souvenirs at a relatively good price.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spongeorama also viewed

 
Tarpon Springs, FL
Tarpon Springs, FL
 

Been to Spongeorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spongeorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Spongeorama to your Saves list