We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fred Howard Park

Fred Howard Park
1700 Sunset Dr, Tarpon Springs, FL 34689
727.943.4081
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fred Howard Park consists of 155 acres and is located on the Gulf of Mexico. It's location provides access to the Gulf by a 1-mile long causeway. The white sandy beach is a popular swim area and also provides a perfect location to view spectacular sunsets.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Howard park as we locals call it is a great place to go. The sand is great and the beach(that goes all the way around) is plentiful. Be sure NOT TO FEED THE BIRDS! They become aggressive and tend to steal your food if they are fed. As far as the $5 parking goes us locals really hate it. If you do wind up paying the fee make sure you pay it forward and give your parking receipt to the next guy as you leave!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    95
    24
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“wonderful clean beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is a clean safe beautiful beach....wonderful beach for sunset....only downside is there is a $5.00 parking fee...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet little beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The sand is not as nice as Clearwater Beach but it is way less crowded and cheaper (5$ parking). The kids that want to play in the sand don't see much of a difference. There was also a nice park structure at the entrance of the park... Great place to enjoy a less crowded beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Pretty beach and park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We dropped by here on a weekday thanks to the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. It really is a little gem of a beach. It is not that large, but it is very clean and well maintained. There are parking meters starting on the causeway and they go all the way up to the beach, so if you miss the first one, don't worry! I could see how this beach must be very popular on the weekends. It was a little windy the day we went, and the windsurfers looked like they were having a great time. Kayak rentals were available.
The park is also lovely and well-maintained. People were enjoying picnics there. We had no trouble finding the park as we had a Tarpon Springs "Fun Map" available at the tourist kiosks, and also there were signs to the park. If you're in Tarpon Springs and like the beach, this is well worth the $5.00 parking fee. A great place to watch a sunset, too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Gorgous white sand beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is one of my favorited Florida beaches. A perfect day here is to take a picnic and spend the day here. We usually eat right on the beach but the shady picnic areas in the park would be a good choice to. Parking is $5.00 for the day.There are showers and clean washrooms on the beach. dogs aren't t permitted.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred Howard Park also viewed

 

Been to Fred Howard Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred Howard Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.