We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bern's Steak House

Bern's Steak House
1208 South Howard Avenue, Tampa, FL 33606
(813) 251-2421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,001 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Bern's is an institution in Tampa. The meat is excellent, appetizers and drinks top notch, and service is impeccable. Our server Trebor went out of his way to accommodate 8 people for a business dinner and gladly separated food and alcohol bills (business dinners no longer being what they used to be, alcohol is not reimbursable by our organization.

Trebor made suggestions to the Bern's first timers about the best way to have their meals prepared, and as a result, everyone left quite satisfied.

I can also note that although it may seem a bit pricey, Bern's included food that would have been a la carte at other fine steakhouses. As an example, an 8 ounce filet came with French onion soup, salad, baked potato and a vegetable all for $39. The steak alone at other steak houses would have been that much so I think Bern's provides good value for the prices paid.

Bern's is also known for having an extensive (and expensive) wine list. However Trebor did an excellent job of recommending quite good wines at reasonable prices.

After dinner, guests are invited to a separate dessert room for coffee, dessert and after dinner drinks. Let's be honest and call this for what it is, an extra opportunity to gain revenue. That said, the room is divided into little private cubicles, there is music playing, and the desserts are spectacular. A great way to end the night whether you go as a couple for a romantic dinner or with a group for a celebration.

All in all, there's a reason why Bern's has been in business for so long and remains a must in the Tampa restaurant scene. They just do everything well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,106
    286
    144
    65
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee FLA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“70 th birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our waiter ,James , made the experience awsome ,he truely is a class act. We had the best filet i have ever eaten . the boss Lady had the escargot and I had oysters apps . followed by french onion soup and salad . then the main ----Well, just Outstanding, the Best . James even got me a Tempelton rye on the rocks from the upstairs bar menu ..after dinner a wonderful tour of the kitchen and wine celler followed by the Upstairs dessert room ----Wow you gain five pounds just looking at the menu overall just a very wonderful 70th Birthday for me and Sue--- Thank You Berns --Ya gotta go here

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Steak, Kitchen Room and don't miss the dessert room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This restaurant has been on our places to see and eat at for a long time. We travel to Florida every few years but usually do the Disney thing. So we made a point to visit Bern's on this trip and was not disappointed. Fortunately we have friends in Tampa, so we drove the hour from Disneyworld. Let's start with the 175 page wine menu. This may seem daunting, but the well trained wait stay are very willing to advise. And don't worry they won't recommend a more expensive wine. The steaks are cooked to temperature, so size and cut vary. You cannot go wrong with anything you order. Your dining experience is truly an experience. After dinner, you get a tour of the kitchen, watch them cut the filets, see the wine bar/room, cheese cave and think to yourself, I should have ordered that! Then it is up to the dessert room. Complete wine lovers ambience, your are seated in converted winery size wine cask. Great dessert menu, recommend the macadamia nut ice cream. Maybe an after dinner drink, listen to music in your private cove. Then tour the restaurant on your way out. Bern's is now on our must eat list on any trip to central Florida.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOFFMAN ESTATES
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing Like It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

You owe it to yourself to go once. The care put into the food is extraordinary. Be sure to get the tour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Bern's is more than a restaurant...it's an experience and one that everyone should try at least once. The food is fabulous! Everyone receives a tour of the kitchen and wine cellar on their first trip. And, of course, no trip to Bern's is complete without a trip upstairs to the dessert room! My favorite on the dessert menu is the Macadamia Nut Sundae with loads of homemade chocolate fudge sauce. There are no words! I'm sure everything is incredible as everything is made in house. A perfect spot for a romantic dinner! If you don't want to invest in an entire evening, at least make a reservation for the dessert room. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bern's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.