We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night Out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bern's Steak House

Bern's Steak House
1208 South Howard Avenue, Tampa, FL 33606
(813) 251-2421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,962 restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Night Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I went here with co-workers in May 2013 and had a great night. The food is excellent and you MUST take the tour of the kitchen and wine cellar. They have HUGE kitchen operation and I believe they have the largest private collection/stock of wine in the country. They have an off site warehouse that stores most of the wine. But you must also go upstairs for dessert afterwards - so save room! It is a bit pricey but for a special occasion or when someone else is paying (ie: work) it is totally worth the experience. The atmosphere is great, and each room has a different theme so wander around and check it out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    913
    242
    123
    62
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

For my "big" birthday dinner, we had a reservation and tour lined up. I have been hearing about this place forever and was really excited to finally experience it. It is a completely unique environment, which I found charming and a traditional steakhouse (if you're not into that, it might not be for you). The wine list is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G and offers plenty of choice for a wide range of pocketbooks. The history itself is interesting as well. I had a very typical meal so nothing revolutionary but all very well prepared and delicious. Really enjoyed tour of kitchen & wine cellar--worth the price of dinner just to see that! Definitely do it at least once, its a super fun experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great special occasion meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Bern's is a great spot for special occasions. The food is exceptional -- lots of fresh produce and the best quality steaks. The steaks are priced in line with the other high-end steak houses, but unlike the others, Bern's includes the salad, soup, sides and potatoes. The dessert room is also a great experience and includes a great variety, including low-sugar options with wonderful taste.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Berns Dessert is Excellent, the steak house is lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It wasn't bad, but it wasn't Great and with the price and hype I was expecting great. I reccomend Ruths Cris for your meal and the Berns for dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Unbelievable, throwback experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have had better meals but this is really an unique experience. It is like you walked back to the 1940's (in a good way). Reception was a little stuffy but once we got seated, our waiter, Jack was great. Sommelier Eric is very knowledgeable but not stuffy or arrogant. They have an AMAZING wine selection...the best I have seen anywhere in the world and very reasonable prices. They use the best ingredients but that means making things the old fashioned way (probably not too healthy for you). The steaks are the best so I would stick to this when you are eating there. Comes with french onion soup, salad and baked potato. We got a tour of the kitchen and the wine cellar. It is not cheap and it is not for you if you are in a rush. It is truly an experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bern's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.