We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night Out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bern's Steak House

Bern's Steak House
1208 South Howard Avenue, Tampa, FL 33606
(813) 251-2421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,968 restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Night Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I went here with co-workers in May 2013 and had a great night. The food is excellent and you MUST take the tour of the kitchen and wine cellar. They have HUGE kitchen operation and I believe they have the largest private collection/stock of wine in the country. They have an off site warehouse that stores most of the wine. But you must also go upstairs for dessert afterwards - so save room! It is a bit pricey but for a special occasion or when someone else is paying (ie: work) it is totally worth the experience. The atmosphere is great, and each room has a different theme so wander around and check it out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    955
    245
    125
    63
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

For my "big" birthday dinner, we had a reservation and tour lined up. I have been hearing about this place forever and was really excited to finally experience it. It is a completely unique environment, which I found charming and a traditional steakhouse (if you're not into that, it might not be for you). The wine list is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G and offers plenty of choice for a wide range of pocketbooks. The history itself is interesting as well. I had a very typical meal so nothing revolutionary but all very well prepared and delicious. Really enjoyed tour of kitchen & wine cellar--worth the price of dinner just to see that! Definitely do it at least once, its a super fun experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great special occasion meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Bern's is a great spot for special occasions. The food is exceptional -- lots of fresh produce and the best quality steaks. The steaks are priced in line with the other high-end steak houses, but unlike the others, Bern's includes the salad, soup, sides and potatoes. The dessert room is also a great experience and includes a great variety, including low-sugar options with wonderful taste.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Berns Dessert is Excellent, the steak house is lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It wasn't bad, but it wasn't Great and with the price and hype I was expecting great. I reccomend Ruths Cris for your meal and the Berns for dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Unbelievable, throwback experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have had better meals but this is really an unique experience. It is like you walked back to the 1940's (in a good way). Reception was a little stuffy but once we got seated, our waiter, Jack was great. Sommelier Eric is very knowledgeable but not stuffy or arrogant. They have an AMAZING wine selection...the best I have seen anywhere in the world and very reasonable prices. They use the best ingredients but that means making things the old fashioned way (probably not too healthy for you). The steaks are the best so I would stick to this when you are eating there. Comes with french onion soup, salad and baked potato. We got a tour of the kitchen and the wine cellar. It is not cheap and it is not for you if you are in a rush. It is truly an experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bern's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.