We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat, a must try.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bern's Steak House

Bern's Steak House
1208 South Howard Avenue, Tampa, FL 33606
(813) 251-2421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,997 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A treat, a must try.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Finest steaks in Tampa. Great service that knows their steaks. An old school steak house where your steak and experience is their priority.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    285
    143
    64
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

What a great experience! I went with my husband and two other couples. Our server was excellent. He warned us about the amount of food that accompanies each entree and suggested we defer appetizers. He was absolutely correct. Our steaks were melt in your mouth and perfectly prepared. Each entree includes French onion soup, salad, baked potato, onion rings and veggies--wow!! After dinner we were taken on a tour of the kitchen and the wine cellar which has 600,000 bottles worth an estimated $60 million! It's a pricey dining experience but you actually get top quality food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband took me there for a surprise birthday dinner. He was so excited! Sat in a nice, quiet room. However, if they took a couple of tables out, it would be much nicer. You could hear the tables around you talking, not so relaxing. The food was good, not outstanding. The services was fair, servers running around rushing. Got the check, saw a Service Charge and asked the server what was it for? He told us he would explain later and never came back. After waiting 10 min we decided to just leave our money, which we included 20% gratuity because I've been a server. Went on tour, very, very nice and interesting! Went upstairs to the desert room. What a big difference! Service was outstanding, no one rushing around. We asked the server about the Service Charge and she told us it was the gratuity. Made us a bit upset since we left an additional 20%. She told the manager yet no one came to talk with us. When leaving we asked for the manager again, he never came. The next day I called and spoke to a manager. Explain our night and the Service Change, sadly he didn't seem to care. Didn't apologize, offer a refund of that amount, a drink on the house, etc... Our server got a 38'% gratuity and we got a good lesson.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A dinning experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had friends in to town for a special dinner and they wanted to go to Bern's. it is a dinning experience as the whole meal end to end will take you 3 hrs with the kitchen/wine cellar tour and desert, so don't think this is quick bite to eat. Steaks are very good and service is excellent as the servers really know their stuff. We had Di as our server and she was excellent. Wine list is extensive and expensive as it is overpriced, but your meal as soup, salad, potato and vegetable are included is not bad. Desert upstairs is worth keeping room for as they have 30 different in house made items. Not a place your going to all the time but for the special occasion and for a group it is a lot of fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“had to try it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

saw this place on the travel channel, and had to try it because my wife and i honeymooned in tampa. this place is unique because of the way you order your steaks; by type AND by size. we ordered the chateaubriand, and we ordered about 24oz. of it. it was delicious! the baked potato was superb as well. we did not take the wine cellar tour, for we are not wine drinkers. but if you are in to that, then it is a must, because i believe they have over 10,000 wines. yeah, that's no joke. if we ever visit the tampa area again, we will try and visit bern's steakhouse.
P.S. we visited in May, 2011.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bern's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.