We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Tampa Bay1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bern's Steak House

Bern's Steak House
1208 South Howard Avenue, Tampa, FL 33606
(813) 251-2421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,001 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best in Tampa Bay1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is the local favorite and has won awards for many, many years. If you are celebrating a special occasion, this is the place to go. you will be treated like kings and queens. the food is world renown for it's 5 star quality.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,110
    286
    144
    65
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I ate at Bern's 21 years ago and have wanted to go back for many years. Our experience in 1991 was memorable. We loved the food, service, wine list, and were delighted by a tour of the kitchen and wine cellar. We went back this weekend and our experience was quite different. As soon as we entered, we felt like cattle being herded. We went to a very crowded lounge to wait for our table, (Which we reserved a month ago) to be ready. When we were seated we also felt crowded. We enjoyed our appetizers and ceasar salad which was made tableside. Our steak was good, the sides were underwhelming. After our dinner we were given a tour of the kitchen, but it was a different experience than the intimate tour we had in 1991. We were dropped off in the kitchen and passed on from employee to employee, and station to station. What we experienced was a restaurant that does a lot of volume. It has lost the charm that we enjoyed when we visited in the 90's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Excellent beef, top wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

They have a wonderful wine selection. One of the best I have ever seen. You can go from reasonable to extremely expensive wines. Do not miss the wine cellar and kitchen tour. The offerings in the menu, which we have tried in several occasions, are very good, but their aged beef is unique. Do not miss the dessert room upstairs. If you are not into sweets, the port, pure malt scotch, calvados, brandy and cognac are all in there too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Words can't describe the experience at Bern's Steakhouse. What a wonderful experience in everyday. Service, food and experience. If you visit same room for a visit to the desert room, yes, desert room. Best steak ever, no exceptions. Service second to none. Be sure to ask for the tour they offer of the kitchen and wine cellar. Largest privately owned wine collection in the world. While it is out of my price range they have drink offerings at $1200 for 1 1/2 oz. I know unbelievable. Don't be frightened by this. You can still eat there for $100-$150 for a couple, this includes visiting the desert room. If you are ever in Tampa this is a must visit location.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not the Bern's I used to know”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A long time ago ... 21 years ago ... my wife and I ate at Berns. We were young and thought the place was awesome. Over the years we wondered if Berns was still the best. This past weekend we were lucky enough to find out. Sadly the answer is no.

Here's the scoop:
- waiter was solid
- service was slow ... at times we were wondering if we were forgotten
- steak was good, but I have had equal to in many other places
- side dishes were pedestrian .... need i say more
- tour was very inpersonal
- ambiance was horrible ... crowded, noisy ... the place felt like a high volume factory

I wish the team at Bern well. Am sure they won't miss my business. The served 1,000 people the day I was there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bern's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.