We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a burger!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danny's All American Diner

Danny's All American Diner
4406 N Falkenburg Rd, Tampa, FL 33610-5912
813-740-0606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 2,066 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Brick,NJ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What a burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of stopping by for lunch. I had the Roberto Clemente and my Wife had The Babe Ruth. All I can say is those burgers were one of the best we have ever had. The flavor was unbelieveable. The selection of sodas was large and quite varied. They even had my favorite, RC Cola. Dont let the building fool you, there is alot of great cooking going on there. The only thing we found lacking were the french fries. They are using a frozen, coated french fry. If they made fresh cut fries, they would blow the roof off the place.
But, we will be back there when our travels bring us to the Tampa Bay area. Heck, let me be honest. I'll take a trip there even if we are in the Orlando area. Still worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    61
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Diners & Dives”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

1st saw this on tv. First visit last month was Great! This visit was fair, It was still good but they need to improve cleanliness outside. We will try it again next month.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Travel back in time with a DDD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This diner is amazing-- if its even called a diner. You walk up to this little shack of a building and order your meal, huge portions of everything. They have a old school ice box with vintage soda flavors and glass bottles. Seating is only outside so prepared to sit on a bench with other people if need be. Needless to say i know why this was featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. AWESOME!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visited on way to Busch Gardens after seeing on TV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Visited Danny's after seeing on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives in the UK - was on route to Busch Gardens from Orlando to Tampa.

We went for breakfast and the food was very good and decent value for money. We were there early so wasn't bustling but the service was good. I did go and buy a T Shirt for my partner and Cap for myself but the girl who served me said the caps were in a locked cupboard she had no access to and she only seemed to get the t-shirt because it was under the counter so didn't require much effort to fetch - she lacked enthusiasm to say the least but didn't spoil the good food.

We would visit again if passing but wouldn't go really out of my way as was expecting it to be excellent having been on tv and it was merely very good (which is still over and above most places).

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A "must try" when in Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We are big fans of the show "Diners, Drive-ins and Dives" and just before our trip to Florida saw the episode with Danny's All American Diner. We put it on our list and took the drive to Tampa and it was well worth it.
We unfortunately don't have many places like Danny's where we live, so it was a great experience for us. The staff was so friendly and helpful with suggestions. I couldn't resist the "Guy Fieri's Triple D Triple Play", definitely not the usual thing I would order, but fortunately, it was cut into 4 so we all could try it. It was delicious! Everyone else had a great meal as well. The ice cream and milk shakes were amazing, good old fashioned food, good value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danny's All American Diner also viewed

 

Been to Danny's All American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danny's All American Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.