We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paci's Pizza

Paci's Pizza
3201 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629
(813) 902-1222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 1,997 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Authentic New York 24” pizza pies, rolls, calzones all hand tossed and cooked to NY standards in a deckoven. Dough and sauce made in house - nothing pre-bought or pre-made touches our pies. Salads, dessert, beer and wine also available.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Paci's Pizza is a place where they serve just 1 very large sized pizza or you can purchase by the slice. They also have calzones and salad as well as canned and bottled soda. They only have about 8 tables and one server as well as a few bar seats. We went there for the first time last Friday and made the rookie mistake of coming at a normal dinner time when it was hot, crowded, noisy, and service was slow. They advised us to try coming really early like 5 PM or late like after 7 to avoid some of the inconvenience and screaming kids that are there with their families at a regualr meal time. They seemed pretty overwhelmed with the in-house diners as well as the take out orders. They serve you on paper plates with plastic utensils. The slices are so enormous that you have to set them on 2 plates side by side. The crust is very thin--NY style. Good food, but maybe better for take out than dine in.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We drove from Fort Myers for this pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The pizza here is ridiculously delicious. Everything is homemade and the toppings are plentiful! It's a small "mom & pop" restaurant, which is part of the charm, and they make everything fresh and each bite is loaded with flavor. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unforgettable quality. The High Mark is set.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I could go on and on about these pizza's and why I can not order from the national chains again without feeling i'm missing something.
First off, the're huge. the x-large boxes they give you don't always shut because these things are enormous. Second, the dough. incredible taste, the owner says it takes two days to make the dough. i believe it.
The rolls and calzones are amazing.the sauces are homemade. the people that work there are very nice and engaging.
I love these pizza's. after my first visit a year ago, i find myself wanting to go here at least once a week.
The hours are limited.No Lunch and no Sunday hours.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pizza is "fantastica" and the people are also what you go there for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

You would never think that a place located in a small strip mall, on a very busy road as Tampa's South Dale Mabry, could yeld the best pizza you have ever tasted, except if you actually went to Italy to eat one. Owner Skip Glass is the man behind the made from scratch dough and the giant (they are huge) one-size-only pizza that will be smothering your eyes and delight your tastebuds. This place offers rolls and stomboli as well, along with salads and very nice homemade desserts, which are unfortunately not always available. A well selected wine and beer list is guaranteed to satisfy you and the sodas are great for everyone! This, though, is not just the best pizza in town, it is always a place to meet friends, go solo and be befriended by the staff, who will make you feel at home, guaranteed. I just returned there with my partner and you could see an old couple enjoying their pizza, next to a teen couple playing cards a some young ladies on a night out without the husbands. This is also an Air Force favorite and anyone is truly welcome here!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“New Yorkers give this pizza a 10+!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We literally stumbled upon this pizza restaurant while driving around Tampa one evening. Being as we are from NY we weren't expecting much, but we hit the jackpot!! When we drove up, we weren't sure, but there were 2 police cars there (good thing or bad thing??!!) Turns out they were eating pizza! We figured we would try it and are we glad we did. The staff is extremely friendly and since most of them were from New York, we had a really nice conversation. The pizza is DELICIOUS... loved the THIN CRUST and it is HUGE (we laughed because when we saw customers coming in for their take out pizza, it was hanging out of the pizza box!!) We shared a simple cheese pizza and it was really really good (better than a lot of places here on Long Island, NY). The price is very reasonable. We also got salads, which were reasonable also. If we had had more time, we would have visited again, but if we are ever in Tampa again, we will be back. Bottom line: AWESOME NY PIZZA!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paci's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Paci's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paci's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.