We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Sur Cafe

Terra Sur Cafe
5358 W Village Dr, Tampa, FL 33624-6948
813-269-2694
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #179 of 2,066 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Inverness, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went to Terra Sur with another couple. We weren't disappointed by any means, but we weren't Wowed either. The meat was good, the shrimp ceviche was good, but it wasn't great. Would we go back? Yes. Would we crave it, probably not.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband graduated with his Masters degree and our family went out to celebrate. He found this restaurant on Yelp and we are fans of Peruvian food, so we decided to check it out. Our daughter & my parents had never had Peruvian cuisine before, so it was a new experience for them. We got the ceviche sampler and it was delicious. My mother, who previously didn't like ceviche, was enchanted and went back for more after trying it. Our daughter got the fried seafood platter, which is huge and delicious. My parents shared the paella, which was amazing, and my husband and I got small plates and a salad. The pulpo (octopus) was one of the best we'd ever had, and the others were also delicious. The atmosphere is cozy and welcoming, and our server was excellent. We will definitely return when we are back in the area. Thanks so much for an excellent and memorable celebratory meal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Prima donna servers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The food is better than average, but the staff is pretty stuck up. It's not a favor to bring me my food, I'm paying for it and tipping you.
Seriously, the servers need a major attitude adjustment before I would ever go back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They don't honor the Carolwood locations gift cards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Went to Terra Sur because we received a gift card. Dinner and service were very good. However when we went to paid the server came back and informed us that they were not set up to take gift cards yet. Keep in mind that the Kennedy location that we went to has been open since November of 2013! When I asked to speak to the manager she informed us of the same thing and that others have been upset for the same reason. So you have a problem, you know you have a problem because others have complained but continue to do nothing about it. I informed the manager that this problem could have easily been avoided if we had been informed prior to us ordering that if we had gift cards from the other sister restaurant they could not process them yet. I had to be forceful and state that they needed to honor the card also showing them the gift receipt amount before they issued a credit. Made for an extremely ugly end to an otherwise nice meal. It should never have come to that. Will not be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

When the ceviche hankering sets in this place is a real treat. We have visited here many times and each time bringing some leftovers home. Ceviche isn't the only thing on the menu, This small Peruvian gem has a wide range of tasty dishes that could satisfy most palates.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terra Sur Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Terra Sur Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Sur Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.