We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your staying in Ybor, stay at the Hilton ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Centro Ybor Offer
Ranked #22 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If your staying in Ybor, stay at the Hilton ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Staying in the historical and nightlife capital of Tampa, the Hilton is really a no brainer. Perfectly located just a couple of short blocks from Broadway & 7th Ave, and just a block from the Centro Ybor with the main trolley stop into downtown.

The hotel itself also delivers - modern, comfortable, all the amenities you would expect. The staff I should also mention were excellent - two very friendly and helpful girls at reception on arrival. And although the breakfast was not included in my rate - I would recommend getting it anyway as it was as good as typical American chain hotel breakfasts get.

Parking was not free but not a problem, nor can I think of any other issues that would stand out - other than me picking a mid-week to stay in what is really a weekend part of town, and not helped by some very unseasonal Florida rain. Still I would probably rather stay in Ybor than downtown Tampa any night of the week - it just has more of a buzz than even with only a few people. It has been noted here that Ybor can be a bit rowdy or seedy at times - but there is a strong police presence right near the hotel which was a welcome comfort - something I wish I had in other places on my holiday.

I must also make mention of La Crepe Cafe on Broadway - one of the best wraps & salads I have had anywhere on the planet - and I didn't even try their famous crepes ! There is also a plentiful array of restaurants of all cuisines in the area - not to mention the ubiquitous cigar bars, and the multitude of bars - some of which even open on a rainy Wednesday night !

So again - an easy choice for staying in Ybor - the Hilton provides the comfort and convenience of a country style motel in the heart of old Tampa.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    103
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
40
96
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

This was the best experience I've ever had at a hotel. The rooms were very clean and the beds were the most comfortable I've slept in! Everyone working at this hotel from the front desk clerks to the cooks in the kitchen are the perfect example of customer care. They are very friendly and helpful and made our stay the best experience ever. It's in a great location and easy to get to. Within walking distance of many activities. All in all it was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed here during the SEC men's basketball tournament. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The location was great. The courtesy van ran to the arena every hour or you walk a block to the trolley which runs every 15 minutes. You are a short walk from a lot of great restaurants, shops, and galleries. The pool and hot tub area was great and there is a beutifull garden area with tables we used with friends every evening while we enoyed drinks and conversation.

There was a bar in the lobby most evenings. Terry, the bartender, even checked on us while we were hot tubbing and brought out drinks.

The only negatives were there was a charge for breakfast which was the type I've received for free at many hotels chains. There were a few problems with our sink and refrigerator that were quickly and courteously handled. Free parking would have been nice.

Truly, I never passed a staff person who didn't smile and greet me with a "good morning' or "have a great day". This was true from the manager down to the housekeepers.

I can see my wife and I returning for a short getaway in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

We went to the Linkin Park Concert at the Ford Amphitheatre, then stopped to rest at the hotel and then off to nightlife in Ybor City. The next day, we drove to St. Pete to see the Dali Museum.

This hotel is in an awesome location if you plan on going to a concert at Ford Amphitheatre (it's not too far from I-4) or simply go clubbing in Ybor and .

Make sure to book in advance if you are planning on staying. (My brother went to Tampa a few weeks later, but he didn't book in advance and all the rooms were already taken.)

Hotel was pretty clean and the staff was very helpful and gave excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

This hotel has one major selling point... location, location, location. Situated only steps from Centro Yobr and the rest of Ybor's Historic District this hotel is very easy for people staying in that town. We rode the trolley to Channelside to see the Lightning play and it was just $5.

It's an okay hotel with a decent hotel room - the room is very small and made really for business travel. It came with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker and had a great bathroom. It does have a pool and a awesome breakfast selection - $10 all you order...

Staff was friendly and very helpful. All around it was a good stay but not the best Hilton I have been to.

$9 a day for parking too.

  • Liked — Comfy pillows
  • Disliked — Size of the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

Overall the hotel is great. It is located near 7th avenue where all of the happenin' places are. Cleanliness of hotel was good too.

However, I had things stolen from my room by my maid. It seemed like little effort was made to try to solve this problem. A bottle of cologne is not big enough to create a fuss about, but I was still pretty upset at the principle of it and the way it was handled. I am still without an explanation or apology from management.

Lock up everything, even if you think it won't get stolen. Who steals a bottle of cologne from your room?

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

In Tampa for business for a week, and wanted to stay at a place close to restaurants, bars, etc. Ybor City was the ticket. The only knock is that on Friday's and Saturday's the place gets overrun with the young crowd. There's plenty of police around. From a previous review, I didn't feel unsafe at all. The hotel was very good. I usually stay in Holiday Inn/Crowne Plaza's for the points, but one wasn't close that I wanted. One day my air went out and they fixed it promptly, took care of my dry cleaning, held a mailed package for me. Good service and fairly clean. I would definitely stay here again if I was coming to the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of a real bar in the hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Address: 1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#22 Family Hotel in Tampa
#24 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District Hotel Tampa
Hilton Tampa
Tampa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.