We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, accommodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Centro Ybor Offer
Ranked #23 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, accommodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

In Tampa for a conference, great location in Ybor City for fun and dining. Great place to people watch. Although the hotel was under renovations, the staff did their best to make their guests comfortable. Room size is on a larger size, especially if you get the room with the King. Will stay there again next year. I've stayed here a least 7 times in the last several years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    111
    37
    11
    10
See reviews for
45
104
21
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've stayed at this Hotel several times in the past few years, most recently a week ago. I was truly dismayed to see the lobby under construction, as I was not informed of this when I booked the hotel 3 months earlier. The good news is that the construction was almost finished when I checked out. It is convenient to Ybor attractions of course, but the shuttle will take you downtown or the Cruise terminals when needed, but not the airport. I also enjoy taking the trolley downtown which the Ybor stop is only 1 block away. I've even taken the trolley to its termination downtown and walked 2 blocks to Kennedy Blvd. and taken the # 30 bus to the Airport. No problem!

Wes, the day manager and his staff are very helpful, friendly and work hard to make your stay enjoyable and trouble free. The rooms are clean and well appointed, though not brand new, still in fine shape. I will surely stay at the Hilton Garden Inn next time I'm in the Tampa/Ybor area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The location, a stone-throw from the legendary James Joyce Irish Pub in the heart of Tampa's wonderful Ybor City district, is reason enough to stay at this hotel. But my stay was compromised dramatically by construction on the lobby, meaning that check-in was through a back door in a dank little room. Worse, there is no shuttle and cab service is so horrible in Tampa that I waited a full hour for a cab to get to the airport and very nearly missed my plane. There is no excuse for this hotel, which is close to the airport, to not have a shuttle. I'd say it's worth staying there, but keep your expectations in check where amenities are concerned.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We truly enjoyed our experience here. WE were close to the Ybor shopping district. There were a lot of shops and dining opportunities, as well as an open air market, all winthin a short walking distance. The breakfast buffet was great, with fresh made to order omeletes, waffles, etc, he sraff was very friendly, and the free shuttle ato the port was a nice bonus. The shuttle driver was friendly and courteous as well. Only down side...the lobby was being painted and remodeled, so we had to enter and exit a side door that was not well marked for our taxi driver. w
We will definitely go back again, and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location and it was perfect. The staff were friendly and explained the temporary reception due to refurbishment and as compensation they were offering a free breakfast to their guests. An unexpected surprise!

The hotel is easy walking distance to all the sights, clubs, restaurants of Ybor City and there's plenty of on site parking which at €7 per day I thought really reasonable.

The room wasn't massive but tastefully furnished and you could adjust the hardness of the bed which I found made no difference but was really comfortable anyway. Despite being central it was in a quiet location.

The (free) breakfast was very good and all the staff friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

we wanted to stay in a convieniant hotel close to the nightlife of Y'Bor city and the hilton garden fitted the remitt . very pleasant rooms ( had suite with 2 areas 2 flatscreen tvs).only one block from bar resturant street so this hotel is perfect .

Room Tip: if you want extra space get a suit it is only a few dollars more
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel four times and every time I have been completely impressed by their staff and accomodations. We have had a couple of minor issues while staying there and they have always gone above and beyond to accomodate our needs. The location is perfect if you want to explore all that Ybor City has to offer from eclectic shops to their nightlife. We just booked another stay there and plan to continue to visit often! For the rate and location you cannot beat this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Address: 1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#23 Family Hotel in Tampa
#23 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District Hotel Tampa
Hilton Tampa
Tampa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.