We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of Ybor City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed N' Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of Ybor City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here for a bachelor party weekend and were very pleased with the hotel. The location is unbeatable for a weekend in Ybor City. You are within a few minutes walk of all the major restaurants, clubs, and bars. If you are looking for a place that is close to everything this will do it.

The rooms were nice and decorated in a modern way. The beds aren't very comfortable though. They could do with some nicer linens and softer mattresses. You have to pay to park at the hotel and there is a hot breakfast buffet you can pay for in the morning.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here for an extended stay but for a few days in Ybor City this is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    125
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
49
120
23
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed here for only one night, but I would definately stay here again because of the great location and proximity to Ybor district.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Rude, completely unacceptable staff. Made up lies to justify their actions, added fees for services not rendered, AVOID!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

A standard small hotel but very well done and maintained in a safe environment. One can stay here and safely walk the three to six short blocks to the restaurants and bars in the funky historic Ybor City area. A comfortable lobby with a small bar and the hotel serves a good hot or cold breakfast. A good choice when visiting locals near Ybor City.

RGinTally

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Great location in Ybor.
Restaurant and bar staff were amazing. Really great service there.
That said: Front desk staff was rude and unfriendly. Co-workers I was traveling with reported same. The room I requested was not available, and it was shrugged off. HHonors card? I presented mine at check in and the desk person rolled her eyes. Desk staff scowled at guests as they walked past the desk!
We were evacuated in the middle of the night due to water 30 minutes after the fire alarm had gone off and we had been allowed back in(due to the water). Hotel staff banged on doors shouting "it's not safe! take the stairs!" They should have told us to pack, since we found we had to once everyone in the hotel was in the lobby. Once downstairs, the unfriendly front desk staff was very unfriendly - no announcements, no instructions unless asked. Crowd control, announcements, something, anything, would have been helpful.
We were put up in a hotel in downtown in early morning - that hotel is the Embassy by the Convention Center. Much nicer property and top-notch staff. And the room I wanted? Got it.

Room Tip: I was told there is at least one suite on the 4th. Otherwise, rooms tend to be on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I'd to come to Tampa to let my son settle into school. We spent a few days at a pleasant but soulless airport hotel. For the final 2 days , we moved to this hotel. It hit us like a breath of fresh air - a beautifully furnished room and generally a very pleasant tropical garden decor. The room captured the quintessential Southern charm , redolent of New Orleans and it was a pleasure to hang out in the room or just lie in the extremely welcoming beds.

The location was excellent for the attractions of Ybor City which were never more than 5 minutes away. I caught live music at Green Iguana and JJ's on the 2 nights.

The price was relatively inexpensive , the staff were great and I couldn't be more enthusiastic about this hotel. I will make a point of returning

Room Tip: At front of hotel, looking out over gardens and car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Guess this review is both about the Hotel and the district. First I had been to Ybor City about 10 years ago and it was a virbrant lively night spot, we went back there specifically for a night out in the old town. The area has certainly gone down hill, all of the night life has moved down market big style. The Hotel itself is handy enough (for what little there is to see), however the good points end here. The recepiton area proves to be tired, with the breakfast area right next to you making it quite smelly. The lifts take an age to move, best use the stairs... ugly and in much need of decoration. The room, spacious enough, and stinking of cigarette smoke (we specifically requested a non-smoking room). Staff were pleasant enough, no complaints there, but at £80 a night room only, you can do a whole lot better, and besides there really isn't any need to pay a premium to be located near or in Ybor City, go somewhere else instead.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Address: 1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Tampa
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District Hotel Tampa
Hilton Tampa
Tampa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.