We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Centro Ybor Offer
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights after our Carribean.. Lovely clean Hotel in gret location with good staff..
Also got picked up from Channelside too. Can recommend Colombia Restaurant, not too far away!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    118
    37
    11
    11
See reviews for
45
110
21
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Hotel is relatively clean and the staff is cordial. However, on our first night we had a mouse in our room. Waking up at 4:00am and hearing something rustling around in a bag is not my idea of a good time. The hotel also didn't have rooms to switch us, so we had to sleep in the room for the rest of the night. Did I mention that there was a mouse in the room.

The next day the staff was active in switching our rooms and comping one night. One of the staff indicated that there was a mouse issue in the hotel because doors were frequently left open. The rest of the stay was good. But, it is hard to get past the rodent in the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Good HGI property, pretty much what you would expect for the chain in terms of consistency, but the location is what makes a difference, you can pretty much walk to a great area in Historic Ybor. Its full of restaurants, bars, galleries, to suit all tastes. Ive been to Tampa a few times and stayed downtown, I would much rather stay at in Ybor which is less than two miles (take a bus or taxi) but you have a lot more to check out in Ybor.
There was some confusion at check in with my room preference but Im picky and they resolved it. Its a very good value in my opinion, even if you have to pay for parking (9$).
Next time Im in Tampa I'll stay there.

Room Tip: face the front parking lot instead of the back to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, USA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn while attending a conference next door at the Hillsborough Community College Ybor Campus next door. It would also have been a great place to stay while visiting Tampa as a tourist, positioned just behind the historic Ybor district.
For under $100, we got a friendly and helpful check-in greeting which stayed helpful throughout our visit, a good size room - clean and well equipt, a full American breakfast for $10 in the morning, a cash bar in the lobby in the evening and a short walk to dozens of bars and restaurants.
Great value!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We like the Embassy suites next to St. Petes Time's Forum when going to watch the Tampa Lighting play. Last trip, the Embassy was way too expensive (269$) so we decided on the Hilton Garden Inn after looking through hotels.com.
I think it was about $119 per night, last March- 2011. The hotel is in a great location, although quite a ways from the rink, not really walking distance. The hotel let us know that they had a shuttle to take us to the game later that evening. We went down, shuttle was there ready and waiting, and it took about 7-8 minutes to get to the rink. Very good service, we threw the driver a 10 buck tip.
One friend left her Gucci sunglasses in the van, and we called the hotel and sure enough they had them at the front desk when we returned after the game!
The hotel is a little beaten down, and could use a freshening up, but overall it was very clean and tidy and a good stay for the price. There is plenty of parking too, right outside the hotel, and its free.
Only problem: we checked in, went to the room, and while in the room somebody who had just checked in had been given our room number and a key by mistake, and opened the door and came in while I stood there naked after a shower!
Not the biggest of deals, but a little inconvenient!
Just an oversight, and overall, I would recommend the place. We didnt eat there, but there is a breakfast buffet available for 15 bucks in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

If you are staying in Ybor, you can't beat this HGI. The location is fantastic and the staff is great.

My only gripes- the walls can be a little thin, and the rooms (or at least the room i was in) is starting to show some age.

Neither are reasons to not stay here. Overall, it is a really good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Spent 2 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn. The internet did not work properly for the first 36 hours of my stay. AND, i now have a serious case of bed bug bites. Too bad this hotel is so poor because you can walk up to 7th.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
First, I want to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor, I want to sincerely apologize about the issues you encountered. As for the bed bug issue I like to assure you that we take this type of issue very seriously. We understand the attention the media has focused on the bed bug issue around the country. Especially as it relates to the hotel industry in general, it has led to increased complaints of bed bugs. Nonetheless it also has sensationalized the issue that has also led people to the perspective that any insect(s) or bug(s) found in a hotel is a bed bug(s). With the notoriety of the bed bugs and the stigma associated with them, the hotel industry as well as our hotel has been proactive in providing additional training. Specifically all housekeepers and maintenance personnel are trained to look for any signs of bedbug activity in guestroom prior to guest checking into the hotel due to the amount of time they spend cleaning and maintaining the rooms. In addition to the extra training we have a specific hotel policy regarding claims of bed bugs; which is to shut down the room, have it inspected by our professional pest extermination company, they must provide us documentation stating there are no bed bugs or bed bug activity in the room before it is released to be rented.

Once this matter was brought to our attention when you checked out we called in our pest control company to inspect the room, after they completed there inspection they gave us documentation there were no bed bugs in the room. We have a detailed weekly as well as monthly pest extermination program in place, however from time to time we will see an increase in activity from several insects, due to the rainy and humid weather of Florida. Even with the best extermination efforts no hotel or business can ever guarantee they’ll be pest free. The only assurance I can make for my hotel is we’ll continue with our proactive efforts, and investigate claims immediately, and we will take the appropriate course of action if/when necessary to maintain our positive business reputation.

As for the internet issue we have recently upgraded our system which we experienced a few connectivity issues. We have been working closely with our AT&T provider and they have resolved the connectivity issues.

Again, please accept my apology for the issues you encountered. We strive to deliver the best possible experience to all guests; we try to resolve any issues in a timely as well as in an efficient manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Address: 1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District Hotel Tampa
Hilton Tampa
Tampa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.