We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location. Hotel could use a little updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed N' Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love the location. Hotel could use a little updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

If you are staying in Ybor, you can't beat this HGI. The location is fantastic and the staff is great.

My only gripes- the walls can be a little thin, and the rooms (or at least the room i was in) is starting to show some age.

Neither are reasons to not stay here. Overall, it is a really good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    125
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
49
120
23
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Spent 2 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn. The internet did not work properly for the first 36 hours of my stay. AND, i now have a serious case of bed bug bites. Too bad this hotel is so poor because you can walk up to 7th.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
First, I want to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor, I want to sincerely apologize about the issues you encountered. As for the bed bug issue I like to assure you that we take this type of issue very seriously. We understand the attention the media has focused on the bed bug issue around the country. Especially as it relates to the hotel industry in general, it has led to increased complaints of bed bugs. Nonetheless it also has sensationalized the issue that has also led people to the perspective that any insect(s) or bug(s) found in a hotel is a bed bug(s). With the notoriety of the bed bugs and the stigma associated with them, the hotel industry as well as our hotel has been proactive in providing additional training. Specifically all housekeepers and maintenance personnel are trained to look for any signs of bedbug activity in guestroom prior to guest checking into the hotel due to the amount of time they spend cleaning and maintaining the rooms. In addition to the extra training we have a specific hotel policy regarding claims of bed bugs; which is to shut down the room, have it inspected by our professional pest extermination company, they must provide us documentation stating there are no bed bugs or bed bug activity in the room before it is released to be rented.

Once this matter was brought to our attention when you checked out we called in our pest control company to inspect the room, after they completed there inspection they gave us documentation there were no bed bugs in the room. We have a detailed weekly as well as monthly pest extermination program in place, however from time to time we will see an increase in activity from several insects, due to the rainy and humid weather of Florida. Even with the best extermination efforts no hotel or business can ever guarantee they’ll be pest free. The only assurance I can make for my hotel is we’ll continue with our proactive efforts, and investigate claims immediately, and we will take the appropriate course of action if/when necessary to maintain our positive business reputation.

As for the internet issue we have recently upgraded our system which we experienced a few connectivity issues. We have been working closely with our AT&T provider and they have resolved the connectivity issues.

Again, please accept my apology for the issues you encountered. We strive to deliver the best possible experience to all guests; we try to resolve any issues in a timely as well as in an efficient manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

It is very musty and humid inside the rooms. The first one was full of bed bugs. They moved me to another room with no trouble but the second wasn't much better. Not clean enough and the building is older, it is overdue for renovations.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
First, I want to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor, I want to sincerely apologize about the issues you encountered. As for the bed bug issue I like to assure you that we take this type of issue very seriously. We understand the attention the media has focused on the bed bug issue around the country. Especially as it relates to the hotel industry in general, it has led to increased complaints of bed bugs. Nonetheless it also has sensationalized the issue that has also led people to the perspective that any insect(s) or bug(s) found in a hotel is a bed bug(s). With the notoriety of the bed bugs and the stigma associated with them, the hotel industry as well as our hotel has been proactive in providing additional training. Specifically all housekeepers and maintenance personnel are trained to look for any signs of bedbug activity in guestroom prior to guest checking into the hotel due to the amount of time they spend cleaning and maintaining the rooms. In addition to the extra training we have a specific hotel policy regarding claims of bed bugs; which is to shut down the room, have it inspected by our professional pest extermination company, they must provide us documentation stating there are no bed bugs or bed bug activity in the room before it is released to be rented.

As soon as we moved you to another room we put the room out of service, we contacted our pest control company to inspect the room, after they completed their inspection they gave us documentation there were no bed bugs in the room. We have a detailed weekly as well as monthly pest extermination program in place, however from time to time we will see an increase in activity from several insects, due to the rainy and humid weather of Florida. Even with the best extermination efforts no hotel or business can ever guarantee they’ll be pest free. The only assurance I can make for my hotel is we’ll continue with our proactive efforts, and investigate claims immediately, and we will take the appropriate course of action if/when necessary to maintain our positive business reputation.

As for the condition and the mustiness of the room I have shared your information with both the Housekeeping and Maintenance department to focus more attention on setting the air conditioning to a more comfortable temperature.

Again, please accept my apology for the issues you encountered. We strive to deliver the best possible experience to all guests; we try to resolve any issues in a timely as well as in an efficient manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

If you want to take in the beauty & charm of historic Ybor city you'll definitely want to stay at this hotel. It is one block from plenty of bars, restaurants, and quaint little shops, yet it is quiet and comfortable. The HGI's staff is always polite and extremely helpful. I love the location of the hotel, and just completed my 3rd stay there in the last 2 years. Do yourself a favor and check them out when you're in the Tampa area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel is any nice as any hotel in the mid range price class. You can't beat the location in Ybor City as it is close to restaurants and nightlife. Stay here if you want a great hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very pleasant atmosphere. Located in the heart of historic Ybor City. EXCELLENT breakfast! Walking distance to trolley, 7th ave., and many restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is in an historic district that seems to be making a comeback.

The front desk help, both the a.m. and p.m. shifts (Matira and Robert), couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Great welcome, \ restaurant recommendations, shuttle service, and cab ordering, etc. Great staff!

The room was spotless, plus the king bed has a firmness and softness control, like a sleep-number bed! The bathroom was clean and everything in its' place.

I ordered the hot breakfast and was pleased with the service and quality of the food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Address: 1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#23 Business Hotel in Tampa
#29 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District Hotel Tampa
Hilton Tampa
Tampa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.