We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, average rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Centro Ybor Offer
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
SF
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good location, average rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

located directly in ybor historic district. quiet hotel with good breakfast and a nice pool and fitness area.
the rooms are large but unfortunately ours was not exactly the cleanliest of all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    118
    37
    11
    11
See reviews for
45
110
21
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

The hotel is a typical Hilton Garden Inn... if you've stayed in one, they're pretty consistent. Some of the rooms have windows that open, which has it's plusses and minuses. Stay on the even side and there is a lot of traffic noise.
The cleaning isn't as good as I've seen at other Hilton Garden Inn's... but it's not bad. They forget quite often to restock, but you just need to get supplies from the front desk.
There are a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance, but ask the front desk. There are bad areas of the city and walking alone is not recommended at times. Ybor city used to be more popular, but the city has been hit by the ecomony and there are a lot of closed stores and restaurants.
The hotel is pricy and on top of that, they charge $9 a night for parking. Not sure its worth what you pay for a stay. We negotiated a rate because we had a group so that helped a little.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

What a Truely wonderful stay at this Hilton.. They helped me with directions, places for dinner, even provided transportation when I was running late for an appointment. Breakfast in the morning better than any breakfast I could have made at home. Staff in dining area recommended the waffles and made sure they were at my table as soon as ready.. This hotel truely must have great management in place, as that is my profession, and I'm always aware of a well trained team. Keep up the good work Hilton Ybor, I'm directing all my clients and friends your way!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central FL
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Husband and I stayed at this hotel in October 2010 and were pleased overall with the hotel quality and location - attractive, clean, nice rooms and short walk to a lot of good restaurants in Ybor City. Our only complaint was with the new adjustable mattresses Hilton Garden Inns are using. When we decided to turn in for the night, I discovered that the mattress had deflated where I had been sitting to watch TV and read and didn't reinflate when I got up. On lying upon it, the dent became a trench and made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. By the time we left the next morning, two hours after we got up, the mattress had reinflated to the point where it looked fairly normal and I'm sure it looked okay to housekeeping. The manager was most apologetic and refunded the night's stay. I suspected at the time Hilton had been sold a bill of goods on those mattresses and a subsequent stay at another HGI confirmed my suspicion. Considering all the problems hotels have in keeping air conditioning, shower heads, drains, lamps, etc., in working order, it doesn't seem like a good idea to add yet another item that requires maintenance. Out of 7 HGIs we've stayed in with the adjustable mattresses, 2 have had "broken" mattresses and one had a mattress that "wheezed" on both sides but didn't deflate. It's probably a good idea to test the mattresses on checking in rather than waiting till late at night when you don't feel like packing up and moving, though that's an aggravation I don't need and am reconsidering the HGI brand altogether. The mattresses are okay (though not as great as advertised, we don't think) when they're working properly but miserable when they spring a leak. I have read several other complaints about the mattresses in the last couple of days.

Other than that, this was a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night pre-cruise. It is very close to the cruise port and there is a free shuttle to take you there. Cost of taxi from airport to hotel was $25 and the ride was about 20 minutes, I think. I cannot say enough about this hotel. It was clean, quiet, and the hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The bed was extremely comfortable. I paid about $120 per night and booked directly with the hotel. While at this hotel, we walked to the Columbia Restaurant for lunch and I would highly recommend that experience. The front desk will also give you a menu to order from a pizza place that will deliver directly to your room. We did that too and it was good. This hotel is a gem!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This is a very nice hotel. I will say that they could do something about their sound proofing. My son and I got in after midnight and their were people still milling around in the hallways. They were rather loud. and I was extremely tired. I didn't say anything to anyone but I know I should have. (After getting up in the morning I found out there was a group from New Orleans in to see the Tampa Bay / New Orleans game and unfortantly for me they were on our floor.) The beds were very nice and easy on the backs. The shower was nice but not a lot of water pressure. The hotel was very clean as was the room. The location for us was just right as we were going on a cruise the next day so we were very close to the port and they offered a free shuttle service to the port. However, please know that they do not have a shuttle service that runs from the airport to their hotel and the taxi services that run from the airport to the hotel cost my son and I $30.00. But again the price was a bit much for just a place to sleep for 8 hours. They do have a wonderful breakfast buffet that is NOT free. But it is very good. And the staff there is very nice. If you are taking a cruise and are going to be around the Tampa area for a couple of days I would suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Here for conference at Tampa Convention center- complementary shuttle and nearby trolley- helped with transportation. Great staff!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Address: 1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#24 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District Hotel Tampa
Hilton Tampa
Tampa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.