We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel on the Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3025 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #66 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel on the Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Despite having record low temperatures in Tampa during our visit, we found this to be a warm and welcoming hotel. In fact, during our stay the heater in our room stopped working and Maintenance came by to replace it within minutes.

The pros were the friendliness of the staff, the quick access to the highways, the beaches and downtown Tampa, and proximity to the airport. The cons were that nothing is walking distance except one restaurant and a small convenience store. There was a nice complimentary breakfast.

The only dings we would give the hotel were that the vending machines were empty for days, and the front desk should have been staffed with more than one person when the hotel was full. Otherwise it was quiet and comfortable with a nice view of the Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    136
    62
    23
    17
See reviews for
112
97
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived later than expected at Tampa airport but were soon on our way in the shuttle sent by the hotel. Christmas cookies and smiles at Reception, and a nice double room. The nearest restaurant/bar, the Bahama Breeze, was only a few yards away, adjacent to the hotel. A great atmosphere and such speedy waitresses! Comfortable night and a reasonable buffet breakfast. If it had not been so foggy, we would have sat outside, even though it was December, and watched the pelicans. Shuttle took us back to the airport to pick up our rental car - no hitches anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked this hotel prior to cruise to Cozumel. All transfers were included from airport to the cruise terminal. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were a little early to check in and they went above and beyond to get us in our rooms quickly as possible. A little secluded and not too much around to do without transportation and dependent upon the shuttle. Restaurants are beside the property. The pool is a little small, but well maintained. I think it was a great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The place seem like a old and carpet was old and need to be replaced. Its a good location, with Bahama breeze next door and on the bay area. But the rooms need upgraded bad and bed was not comfortable. Being on the end wifi was very slow and would drop off line.

Room Tip: Will not stay here again, not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Al944,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family stayed at holiday inn express before our cruise. As soon as we got into our room we noticed there was a huge hole in the wall and the water sprinkler was hanging off the wall. We called the front desk to complain and they only took 10.00 off of our bill. Cold air was coming through the hole and they did nothing to fix it and said all their rooms were booked. I proceeded to go to the workout room and none of the machines were working. Both treadmills were broken and the stationary bike was unstable and was about to break. The front desk had no idea that none of the equipment was broken. My family was suppose to stay there the night after our cruise but we canceled our reservations... It was such a awful experience. Besides taking 10.00 off they did nothing else and we are even holiday inn priority members.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Lawson147,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards member. We appreciate your loyalty and wish to thank you for your feedback. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay and I regret we fell short of your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We ended up here by accident, as another hotel had mixed up our reservations and re-routed us here. It was a bit more of a drive than we anticipated but was a lovely surprise. It was clean, spacious, and included a delicious breakfast. We were right on the water, overlooking a pretty view of a Tampa waterway. Cookies at the front desk were a nice touch, too. We would return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemmel, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days for a business travel. The location was perfect; close to airport/close to client and close to International Plaza Mall. We often used the shuttle; excellent service. Had a nice view from bedroom window. Staff was VERY helpfull and made us feel home instantly. room and lobby/breakfast area was very clean. Maybe not best location when traveling for leisure but for a business trip it was perfect!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Address: 3025 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.