We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price/quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3025 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #70 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Wemmel, Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent price/quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days for a business travel. The location was perfect; close to airport/close to client and close to International Plaza Mall. We often used the shuttle; excellent service. Had a nice view from bedroom window. Staff was VERY helpfull and made us feel home instantly. room and lobby/breakfast area was very clean. Maybe not best location when traveling for leisure but for a business trip it was perfect!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    110
    54
    19
    15
See reviews for
97
78
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After a couple of weeks in Ft. Myers Beach, we needed a hotel for one night before flying out of Tampa to head home. Our room was very comfortable, the front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast was wonderful, with omelets, bacon, and pancakes. We asked for a late checkout, since our flight didn't leave until late afternoon, and were accomodated with no problem. We had researched the hotel in advance and knew it was fairly isolated, so ate before we arrived, but there were take-out menus under our door when we arrived from restaurants offering free delivery. There was a coffee maker in the room.

This hotel was an easy 5 minute drive to the airport - and its location on the causeway can't be beat for views of the water! A great place to stay:)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water, rather than the parking lot. Much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUEBLO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is so far away from anything it is a Joke. I knew the Minute our shuttle driver had dropped us off this was a bad place. Then the Front Desk people are so very Rude will not even call you a Taxi or give you any sort of Information. No ATM on site. Food Horrible in the Morning. Room OK but Stay some where else if you are going on A Cruise. They claim they have Free Transportaion to Cruise Lines this Is Not True. Do not believe them and then when They Lie they act like it Is your Fault .. Never Again at this Holiday Inn.. Stay away Be warned..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear eboiowamcross,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am sorry you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory and regret our hotel did not live up your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here one night before a cruise leaving from Port of Tampa. I booked their "cruise package" that provides a shuttle service to and from the airport, to and from the port, parking, and a suite. The amount I paid for the room is what I would have paid for shuttle service for my family of 5.

We arrived at TPA and I called the hotel for shuttle pick up when we arrived in baggage claim. He arrived within 15 minutes. The hotel is only minutes from the airport and in a beautiful location although secluded. Bahama Breeze is next door, but there is nothing else in walking distance.

When we checked in, the front desk person asked us when we'd like the shuttle to take us to the ship. With another family with us, I was happy to see that the hotel made sure there was enough space to accommodate all of us and others at the hotel with 2 shuttle vans waiting on time for us. Other hotels I've stayed at before a cruise has only had one van and half the hotel going to the port. You usually have to wait all morning in line for the van to go back and forth.

The room was small, but comfortable with 2 double beds and a sofa bed. We had a nice view, looking out at the bridge. We were able to see dolphin in the intercoastal waters right out of our window. My kids attempted to use the pool but it was too cold as it was not heated and no hot tub. Breakfast was included in the morning was good. I was surprised at the amount of choices available. My kids liked the pancake machine.

Thank you for a nice stay.

Room Tip: our ground floor room was noisy in the morning being close to the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrills Ford, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of the staff. The free hot breakfast was great! There was quite a variety to choose from and the seating area offered wonderful views of the bay. We took our breakfast outside next to the pool to enjoy the great weather and views. The best part of staying here is the Bahama Breeze is right next door - within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location-Great view- nice rooms but the showers need to be redone. 5 min from Tampa airport-Overlooking the Bay but the showers are cruddy. can never understand why a top notch place doesn't do just a little more to be excellent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I complained about a problem I experienced at this property and was told the Manager would return my call but he never did. Customer service also advised the Manager would make a reimbursement and he never did. Not customer driven to even return several phone calls. Do not believe I will stay at this property again while in the Tampa area even though it is the least expensive hotel in the chain. Maybe they are low priced as they don not provide customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Jay C,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Tampa, FL.
Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Address: 3025 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.