We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4732 N Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33614 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #128 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Lancaster, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was the only motel available at airport night before flight out of Tampa International Airport. Check in was stressful regarding request for first floor room. No elevators. Desk clerk, Katherine recognized my struggle with first clerk and she went out of her way to walk back outside three buildings to make sure a first floor room was ready for me! So appreciated her help and I hope motel management recognizes her commitment to customer service! Complimentary shuttle to airport a plus. Room furnishings, carpet, beds, etc in need of update. Front lobby nice.

Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    31
    36
    39
    62
See reviews for
50
47
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You get what you pay for, and less sometimes. Don't stay here, not worth it. Rooms were grubby, stairs falling apart. Front desk staff very nice but ... Not ever going to stay on an Econo Lodge again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this for the night before departing on our cruise. Only needed a clean place to sleep. While it was older, our room was okay- it was clean, there were burn holes in the bedspread. A light was out above the vanity and the tub drain was rusted/not usable. For our situation, all of this was very minor because we only needed a clean place to sleep and it was clean. Not being familiar with Tampa at all, I didn't feel we were safe at night in the area (but we arrived after sunset, so wasn't able to assess much). there wasn't much within walking distance, and we just ordered in for dinner anyways.

We got a great price ($50/night) on the room, so cannot complain - had we not gotten this low of a discount, it wouldn't have been worth it (found out later the Hilton Garden Inn was only$80 a night). So, I'm not complaining as we only needed and wanted a cheap night at a hotel the night before our cruise that was clean and had a shuttle to the port (for reasonable $20/room!) and free shuttle from airport.

Therefore, it was worth it. I would not recommend this place as a "base" hotel for sightseeing and relaxation or a week's vacation. But for our purposes it was fine.

Room Tip: Close shuttle ride to Port of Tampa for only $20 per room. Drivers were very hospitable and profess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Econolodge was a good choice for the spend. Free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel and a reasonable cost for shuttle service to the cruise port of Tampa.

The personnel were friendly, helpful and went above and beyond what I've seen at large, expensive hotels. I would go back to this hotel again for my next cruise from that port.

The room could certainly use a makeover, but it was clean and fresh smelling. Our only issue was a broken tub drain stopper and what might have been a little cleaner shower surround.

The kindness and outgoing staff as well as the full morning breakfast made up for any short comings, especially at the price we paid. The hotel also offers shuttle service within a 3 mile radius for running errands or dinner, since there's not much within walking distance. The desk clerk even found us a discount coupon for the restaurant we told her we planned to dine. This was above and beyond.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family has been staying at this hotel for the last 10 years while we spend time at the Monster Truck Jam. We have never had any really bad complaints until this year! When we got there, we had to wait for over 2 hours for our rooms that were supposed to be ready at 3PM. We went into the rooms and discovered a lot of problems from lights missing, tv not working, stains on everything, towels with "stuff" on them. We dropped our stuff off and left for the Jam. When we returned one of our rooms had been rented out to someone else and our keys wouldn't open the door. Went to the office and was rudely argued with by them that they gave us a different room. They finally gave us another room but no belongings. We couldn't get to sleep due to people sitting outside on the walkway partying really loudly until well after 2AM. Had to fight in the morning to get a refund on the one room that was changed and it still has not been credited to our credit card account. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND NOT STAYING HERE AS IT IS filthy and falling apart and not worth the money or your health... Also no elevator which made it difficult to get my oxygen machine up to my room. We will not be returning to this place, that's for sure!!!!

Room Tip: Sorry... no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was absolutely horrible. They tried to make a smoking room non-smoking by simply hanging a sign in the room that still had ashtrays and a "smoking room" designation on the back of the door. After suffering through a night of wretched smoke stench, my children and I woke to the discovery that the hotel has BEDBUGS. Luckily, I was wearing a white T-shirt to bed, so I noticed the enormous bedbug on my shoulder IN THE MIRROR when I woke up. Otherwise, I probably would have certainly brought home an infestation of these creatures to my home. We spent 4 hours in the laundromat washing and drying our clothes in the hottest water and dryer settings available. The front desk said that they wouldn't refund the night, but would give a half refund. A week later and a refund has STILL not shown up in our account. Avoid this hotel at ALL costs!!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacinda_Buggy, Manager at Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Although an isolated occurrence, anytime a guest is not satisfied or not comfortable for any reason it becomes a top concern for all of us at the Econo Lodge Airport, as guest satisfaction and comfort remain our number one priority.
Regarding the incident, we have a protocol to follow when that type of incident is reported. We immediately taken the room off-line; a staff evaluation was conducted, followed by a thorough professional examination. It was not until management was 100% certain that the room was suitable for occupancy that it was returned to inventory. As an experienced and conscientious hospitality professional this incident is both frustrating and alarming, as we host thousands of guests each year, consistently providing exemplary service and comfort. We unequivocally apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort that you had experienced. We take every step including staff training and implementing professional preventative programs to insure our guests’ comfort.
We hope your experience with us does not deter you from staying with Choice hotels in the future.

Warmest regards,
Econo Lodge
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The lobby area looks lovely but don't be fooled. The room was horrible and smelled intensely of disinfectant. We decided that we couldn't stay there and went back to the front desk to ask for a refund. The receptionist was very professional and polite and immediately refunded our money. She apologized and said it was due to a previous guest smoking and the hotel had to disinfect the room as a result.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium

Address: 4732 N Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33614 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport At Rj Stadium Hotel Tampa
Comfort Inn Tampa
Tampa Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.