We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Will Look Back and Laugh...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4732 N Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33614 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #128 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Pecatonica, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“You Will Look Back and Laugh...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

You know how some things seem bad in the moment but then afterwards you laugh and even brag about your ordeal? Well, if you must stay here, or if the price is too good to pass up, relax. Life will get better when this motel is in the rear view.
It took a couple tries for them to find us a room that had actually been cleaned. One was almost cleaned and the welcoming dirty towel behind the bathroom door and complementary used toothbrush beside the sink almost drew us in. The one we spent 3 days in was made acceptable because we had seen the ones that were not. We could not get connected to the internet at all. There was no number for tech service, so we spent time at McDonald’s. I was told that the only ice machine was 2 buildings back into the scarey neighborhood, so we went without. The breakfast was OK and the staff would switch to acceptable English when required to interact with us.
Good points: The bed was comfortable. The shower head was nice. In spite of the ever-present smell, we did not see any of the normal florida bugs in the room. We could back right up to our door.
Relax. You can do this. It will give you something to brag about and make you appreciate all the other establishments.

Room Tip: The higher the room number, the farther from civilization you will be. Stay in the 600s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    34
    37
    56
See reviews for
48
41
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Very pleased with this hotel. The rooms are clean and the staff is professional. We have stayed here for a week and have had zero problems. I would stay here again. Good location close to the stadium and central to most of Tampa.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for a night due to a family reunion on a cruise from Tampa. The air conditioning wasn't working properly. There were ants on the wall and the floor. We won't stay in this hotel again. The breakfast is ok. There is no WIFI in the room on in the lobby area. It was fine because it was specified but just a bit inconvenient for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay near airport. The area was horrible because of multiple nude bars and strange people walking the streets watching your car. It is very close to the Tampa football stadium and so after the game there were many drunks choosing this motel. It was late and many strange people just sat outside of their rooms for tailgating. We asked for a baby crib and the clerk forgot about us. I went to the front desk like an hour later and finally they got it around 12:30 or 1am in the morning. The lady was apologetic, but still. The baby crib had broke wheels.

Room Tip: Go away from Airport and this area. Nude bars bring much crime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were part of a group booked into this place for an event, also in the media. It was dirty, dingy, and had bugs all over the bathroom. It was also noisy and some of the people staying there who were not affiliated with our group made us very uncomfortable. We were stuck for a few nights but got out as soon as we could. Bottom line, the brand is tainted and will never stay at a Comfort Inn again. Ever.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else in Tampa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We are a large group that booked 40+ rooms to house guests and our staff for a major event in town. Our work in the media business necessitates the use of computers, cameras, audio equip., and the Internet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I'm glad I didn't see any of the previous reviews of this hotel before we stopped for a room, because we probably would have passed it by. Our experience was very different from several of the others who've left reviews.

My husband and I travel a lot and I research and choose the hotels we stay in, very carefully. When we stayed at this Comfort Inn, we were flying blind because we hadn't actually planned on staying there and didn't get a chance to research it at all.. We were relieved and very pleasantly surprised with our accommodations,

The grounds of the hotel were well kept and the staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful at check-in. The inside of the hotel was clean and nicely decorated. The location is great, close to everything you need.

We got to the room and were happy to find a clean, well maintained space. Even though the hotel was pretty well-booked, it was still quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. Bathroom was clean. Even if you don't have a car to get to local restaurants, there are plenty of places that will deliver to the hotel.

All in all, we were very happy with our stay and have booked a room for our upcoming vacation in September.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium

Address: 4732 N Dale Mabry, Tampa, FL 33614 (Formerly Comfort Inn Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport At Rj Stadium Hotel Tampa
Comfort Inn Tampa
Tampa Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Airport at Raymond James Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.