We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow... Could not wait to leave!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #91 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow... Could not wait to leave!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is a dump - plain and simple. It's my own fault... I didn't research it enough before booking. I loved the price and went for it. Lesson learned!! You truly get what you pay for!!
We came here for 2 nights because we were taking our kids to Busch Gardens. I honestly dreaded going back to the hotel at night when we were done at the park. It was dirty feeling, old, moldy bathroom, horrible old beds, and roaches in the bathroom. To add insult to injury, when we got back to our room at 9 pm, we walk in and see that housekeeping never came to make up the room! Unmade beds, trashcans full and used towels in the bathroom. We go down to the lobby with our tired children to speak to the front desk about this and their only response is "sorry but housekeeping isn't here". I ask what they can do for us and I'm told "I can get you towels". By the way, the woman at the front desk was completely unprofessional and gave me attitude in response to my upset over the situation.
Bottom line - do yourself a favor and spend an extra $15 per night to stay somewhere else. Like I said, this place is a DUMP!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeanseaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Every three months I stay at this Clarion Hotel as I have to spend a day at Moffitt Cancer Center so I travel the day before to get much needed rest. The staff is so friendly and caring I could not imagine staying anywhere else. The pool area is very inviting if not to swim but just to sit and relax. I have recommended this hotel to many and no one has been disappointed.

Room Tip: all rooms I have stayed in are wonderful, poolside is great when you have kids. I like the corner ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Best Hotel Across The Street From University Of South Florida. The Location Is Perfect For Staying Grounded or walking across the street for something a little different.Great place for the kids, from small to the college age, even Grandpa and Grandma.One time we brought a few girlfriend with their little dog, NO problem. Great place to party by the pool after a snior softball tournament.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCarlton0369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. It's clean and neat surroundings, make you feel comfortable to stay here. I have recommended this hotel to many friends and family. I highly recommend this to many. The parking is great and lots of spacing. The pool area is fun and exciting for family and friends, especially for your kids. I especially love the king size suites with the jacuzzi tub, microwaves, cable television, relaxing chair and desk and table for your lap top if need be and courtesy wi-fi. I had a wonderful time, take my advise you would love your stay here, I recommend the next time you are looking for a great hotel for your stay with family, look no further, here is where to come- Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Fowler Av., Tampa, Fl.

Room Tip: "King Size Suites are the best choice"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My first impressions were not good ones, unfortunately. While I approached the check-in counter, a seemingly homeless man rode his bike into the lobby and attempted to use my 12 yr. old niece’s phone to “google something”. He was acting strangely and I asked him to leave us alone, and I let the front desk clerk know that the man was bothering us. The clerk politely asked the man to leave, which he did. Second impression: the hotel did not have my reservation. I booked/pre-paid in advance through Book-It.com at the reduced rate of $55/night, which was less than advertised on ChoiceHotels.com, and also less than my friend paid through Expedia ($69/night). The hotel asked me to call Book-It.com and I was on hold for (OMG!) 28 minutes (I know,’ you get what you pay for’ comes to mind…) only to find out the Clarion had the reservation under my first name (who does that??). So after the check in drama, we checked into our rooms. Rooms: about what you’d see in a cut rate hotel (like Motel 6). We were prepared, based on previous reviews. Breakfast: the lady behind the counter serving cafeteria style is not about to give you extra sausage, even if you don’t want the potato and eggs. But, I guess, it’s included, so deal with it. Location: the entire location surrounding Busch Gardens and USF has seen better days, and I would characterize it as sketchy. However, there are numerous choice for dinner and lunch from sub shops to casual dining, and the proximity to Busch Gardens and Adventure Island is great. So if I could give 2.5 stars, I would.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKS_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Its a 50$ a night hotel . Its not the Ritz but its clean and the service is friendly. The pool area is wonderful for kids and adults. Highly recommend as a good value. It is very close to USF and has plenty of parking. The Chinese buffet next door isn't bad and is inexpensive.

Room Tip: Second floor in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

we have enjoyed staying at this hotel,have stayed here severial times and always greated with a smile and always been very helpful with anything we have ever needed. There is no other motel in Tampa that we would ever stay in but yours.

Room Tip: This is hard to choose because every room that we have stayed in has been very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Tampa near Busch Gardens/USF
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
8.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#55 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
4.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing