We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Slum” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #99 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
FLORIDA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Slum”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As a former travel advisor and someone who has traveled to third world countries, I can honestly say this is the filthiest, most treacherous hotel I have ever stayed in. Our stay was over the 4th of July weekend and all other hotels were fully booked, so we were stuck here with our grandchildren. To begin with, the halls and stairways were dark and filthy--not a week's worth of filth, more like years and years. Filled garbage bags were stacked next to the garbage cans and were not removed during our 3 day stay. The internet service was down. Worse yet, their washing machines were broke so no clean towels and washcloths for anyone. The room was dirty and in disrepair. The pool area is lovely, but the pool should be shut down. My husband is a certified pool inspector and when he told the office of the problems (broken and missing pool tiles making it unsafe to swim without getting cut), they did nothing. The breakfast was disgusting. Hotel workers gathered in the gazebo and around the pool area, smoking and commenting on people in their bathing suits. Please Please do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    106
    76
    62
    75
See reviews for
189
84
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and that would be enough for me. The rooms were old and we actually felt like it was a Motel 6 room. The bed was hard as a rock and kept digging into my side all night. The microwave didn't work so we could not heat up food we had purchased, resulting in not being able to eat. My husband went to lobby to see if he could use another microwave and there was none, not even for use in the breakfast area! Speaking of breakfast, upon check-in, the desk gives you a breakfast voucher to present to the cook at the breakfast counter. So once you give it away, you can't go back and get another helping or anything extra. And they only have milk and warm OJ...no ice or anything else to drink, but they do have a soda machine there if you want to buy a cold drink! The only nice thing about this hotel was the front desk and the atrium by the pool..nothing special at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

there are no words to describe this experience! After driving for 7 hours with 2 kids and a car full of bags,we checked in a room that looked and smelled like a public restroom. I mean filthy as in " nobody ever cleans" - "nobody ever changes the covers(yes stains on both beds and used sheets) " - the windows are filthy, nasty, with marks and spills on them and the smell was ungodly!
No elevator , so we had to walk an exterior staircase with all our luggage in Tampa- in June- at 95F!!When we asked for another room - we were told that we have to drag our things to the front desk and from there carry them to their other "cleaner" room .The woman at the front desk was rude and had an "I could care less " attitude , yelled at me - hang up on me ... I guess I am lucky she did not slap me for making such a big deal over this "insignificant matter".
for the same amount of money we got a nice place right next to Busch Gardens with an elevator and clean covers . and somebody smiling at the door !

Room Tip: don't ruin your vacation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Found this hotel by accident after calling 3 others (all booked). It's not a fancy hotel,but it is very cheap.There was 5 of us. The room had two queen size beds and a couch a med size refrigerator,microwave,coffee machine,ironing board w/iron,alarm clock,hair dryer and a safe.There were two pools one for the kids that had a small pirate ship in the middle with water slides(max. depth 1.5 feet)and a heated pool for the adults.Breakfast was included for all of us(eggs,bacon,sausage,oatmeal,grits,toast,muffins and selection of cereal.Milk coffee and sodas. and all for $60.00 not each total.And it's 1.5 miles to Bush Gardens,they have a free shuttle to and from but it only ran at 10:00am and pick-up at 5:00pm so we took a cab it was only $12.00 since it's so close.Had no problems during the stay with my room or the staff as I stated it's not a fancy place but I've stayed at hotels costing $350 and up a night but for $60 bucks I can put up with decor from the 80's.

Room Tip: Mine was fine, clean and ice cold air.I always check it out real good(I even carry a black light)bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore Haven, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a great stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again. The location was excellent. We were visiting Busch Gardens and it was very close and easy to locate. The rooms were very clean and we were offered an early check in. At any other hotel when we've asked to check in early they always have a fee, but not here they offered it we did not have to request or pay extra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Worst hotel experience ever they went as far as to Issue a room key to someone else the morning after we checked in Imagine being woke up in a hotel by a strange person walking in your front door Then after being told they were going to reimburse my credit card after 2 months I still have not had a credit to it yet Supposedly I'll be talking with the manager tomorrow morning There's no way I would ever stay in this hotel for any reason ever again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

i am not sure where many of these negative reviews are coming from. I have been repeatedly coming to this hotel for the past two years when I go to Busch Gardens. When I opened the door to my room this past weekend, I was immediately struck by the fact that there was NO mildew or musky smell: I detected a lot of that at the Swan & Dolphin at Disney, but not here.

There were no beggars or homeless around for any of my visits. My son and I have always been treated with the utmost respect by the staff here--every time we have come!

The location has a lot of upscale restaurants and shopping in the vicinity--hardly the rundown type of area that some of the other reviewers would have you believe.

There WAS a lot of activity at the kids' pool, though. They were right about that. If you are someone who can't stand to see kids having a lot of fun--while on vacation, mind you-then perhaps you are at the wrong hotel. You could get a room nearer the adult pool, however--or on the other side. As a frequent attendee of Busch Gardens, I can tell you that a full day in the hot sun will wear you out. That little bit of energy the kids may still have can be vented at the pirate ship in the kids pool, while mom and dad sit back, watch and relax!

They do give out vouchers for breakfast. This does allow the quality of the food to be maintained for guests only. I don't have a problem with it at all. Only those who shouldn't be there would complain about sausage, eggs, grits, hash browns, juices, iced coffee, cereal, oatmeal, etc. (This alone will save you a lot of money if you were going to pay to feed the family breakfast at McDonald's, etc., before Busch Gardens.)

I have forgotten a toiletry item or two during my stays. There has always been someone at the front desk to EAGERLY provide me with same.

The rooms have cable tv, microwaves, a refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryers, iron (and ironing board) personal safes, and a whole lot of air conditioning if you want it. (For the record, my $200/night room at Disney did NOT have half of this. You even had to pay for WIFI--free here!) The ice machines are ideally located and usually ready to fill your ice bucket every time (unless someone has decided to fill their camping cooler). Cold vended drinks are reasonably priced.

I wasn't at this place two years ago, so I don't know what it was like then. Many of the posted reviews go back over a year. I can tell you that THIS staff is courteous, available, and attentive. I have never failed to have them try their best (and succeed) to take care of my needs during my stay.

Even my son (age 19) stays here when he comes down by himself.

The hotel has quick and easy access to Busch Gardens, USF and the Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI). There are a lot of places to go to eat--many are right across the street.

Still the best overall value/location/atmosphere in Tampa!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is nice, but be aware of the fact that there will be a lot of activity here--ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Tampa near Busch Gardens/USF
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
8.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#62 of 159 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Suites Hotel near Busch Gardens - USF
4.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.