We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Property but a great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #97 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Older Property but a great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013, before moving on to Miami to catch a cruise. What a wonderful, relaxing spot! Yes it is an older motel ... but come on people you're not paying for the Ritz! It's cheap with a free breakfast that you would pay $10-$12 for at a restaurant. Yes. it's an older style TV - but if you're wanting to watch TV all day, stay home! The shuttle to Busch Gardens only runs once a day at 10am and they will pick you up at 5pm ... several nice places to eat close by - TGI Fridays, Denny's, and others (Avoid the Buffet place next door!) - Get a room by the pool if you can - staff is super friendly

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    82
    51
    49
    61
See reviews for
152
68
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hibbing, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

With no reservations made we stopped at the clarion hotel tampa and we were so pleased with the hotel. We found the pool area so relaxing and the kids had a wonderful time in the childrens' area, it was wonderful. The rooms are not new and fancy but they were clean and very comfortable. All employees were so friendly, they seemed to enjoy working at the Clarion. I would return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Poolside lower level was very nice, easy access to the pools and hotel area for breakfast in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a little older hotel that has been refurbished and is in overall nice condition. The courtyard and pool area are beautiful. The rooms are fairly average, but clean and comfortable. The hotel staff, while very busy the night we stayed, were very friendly. Our only issue was the wireless internet was down all night.
Breakfast was eggs, sausage, grits, potatoes, breads and cereals. Everything tasted good and there was plenty of food. The eating area could use a little more seating but was clean and not overcrowded.
If we're back in the area we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We didn't see any elevators so you either need to request a ground floor room or plan on doing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

As a business traveler, I will not stay at this facility again. As other reviewers have commented, this is a relic out of the 70's. Look at the pictures. The bed was horrible and I could feel the bedframe when I laid down. No alarm clock. One of the big features is the free breakfasts but it caters to cafeteria type patrons with no variety. I did not indulge on the food. Best feature was the free wireless internet. First tube TV I have seen in a long time in a hotel. Luckily I only had to stay 1 night. Time to modernize.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

DO NOT EVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL! This was the most horrific place we have ever stayed. Please take time to look at the '62 traveler photos.' Ironic that I did not post those, but witnessed each and every thing in the pictures. They gave us our fist night for free and then moved us to new rooms that were not any better. We all slept with clothes on the entire time there and NEVER once took off our shoes to walk on the carpet, shower, etc. Holes in the wall, stains on the bedding, curtains, couch and chair. No working electric in our first room. All the lamps had cords but nothing could be plugged in. When we called, they said they would not come down to fix it, so the first night we had no lighting except for the bathroom light and the tv. The toilets constantly plugged up and the shower would not drain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel has potential if it updated the rooms. Mattresses were old and spongy, carpet was gross, blanket had a burn hole in it, just had a dingy feel to the room.

The pool was amazing however, but it made it a little chaotic with lots of kids around. A hot tub would be a great addition.

Yeah! They use REAL plates, tableware, bowls for breakfast! Now just GET RID of the styrofoam cups! Paper cups work fine even for hot beverages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Clarion in Tampa has three things going for it: decent pool area, friendly staff, and a good location in proximity to Busch Gardens. After that, the Clarion is a bust. The hotel is very dated and the rooms are some of the worst I've ever stayed in. The pull out couch was painful to lay on; we ended up laying the couch cushions on the floor instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.