We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valiant effort to update older property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #101 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
FORT WALTON BEACH
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Valiant effort to update older property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place is huge. It has an inner courtyard with a fabulous heated pool. It also has a children's play pool/area that looks like SO much fun! The room was spacious and the bed and pillows were wonderful. The blanket was too short to tuck in AND pull up to your neck. A nice easy chair with ottoman and floor lamp was most comfy. There was a separate large ottoman just sitting in front of the connecting room door that was beat up and stained. Would have preferred it not be in the room. Also, the woodwork (frames and doors) in the room we were in was in very bad need of paint! Fridge (check the temp!) and microwave. TV and internet worked well. Older, very small bathroom (sink in the outer vanity). Nice dress up to the tub surround walls, but the curtain rod was installed at an angle so that the curtain wanted to stay in the middle of the rod. Figured out you could put a wet wash cloth on top of the curtain at the ends to keep it in place so the water didn't spray out everywhere. Breakfast area was large and open, so was a bit chilly. The breakfast was served by staff from behind the counter, and you presented a coupon which you received at check-in. Food choice was not very healthy- scrambled 'eggs,' link sausage, country-style fried potatoes (which were good), small serving of cut up fruit from a can, and white and wheat sliced bread. The first morning there were also small blueberry muffins. The second morning, no muffins, and everything else was the same. The third morning they had biscuits and sawmill gravy, which were both great. Would have been nice to have alternated the menu each day. Very nice lobby. The staff were very nice and accommodating. Located north of Tampa and I-4, and just to the W of I-75, so you don't get hung up in theme park traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    79
    48
    46
    60
See reviews for
145
62
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Dirty and my bathroom didnt even work. Do not stay here if you want a decent place. Say no more! This feels like a place you stay if you were in highschool and looking to get lucky! It is truly one of the worst places i have ever stayed. I feel bad for the staff because there is nothing they can do to make it better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The good: I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the pool. A nice view of a nice pool area. There are 2 pool areas next to each other and both had shady spots with tables for people like me who like to sit, read, and relax. Breakfast is the same every day. scrambled eggs, potatoes and link saussage. Cereal and all the basics are also provided. You are given breakfast tickets at check in and you must provide this to be served. Lots of tables and a nice comfortable setting. our trip plans changed so I added 3 days on to our reservation without hesitation
The bad: The stairway to the 2nd floors are kind of narrow, dark and grubby looking. paint peeling in a couple small places in the room but the room was safe, sanitary and sound.
The ugly: none. I would stay there again

Room Tip: On the pool side! (2nd floor is my favorite) the rest of the rooms face the parking lot. also other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff here is very accommodating, and friendly. The rates are good and the added free breakfast is a money saver. This hotel is conveniently located for our needs, and we stay with Clarion every year during Renaissance Festival season. We will see you there soon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend and was so glad we chose this hotel! Huge property very clean and very hospitable! The staff was welcoming the rooms were fresh and clean and the pool was ginormous ! Perfect for the kids and me!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent Valentines Day and came home yesterday. We like this hotel and loved the staff. They were very friendly and quite accomodating. The Clarion is very central and near to everything. We had a good time. They have a heated pool and even a great kiddie pool area as well. The price was great. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room near to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florahome
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited there the weekend of the 15th to go to the hard rock for some gambling. Reservations were easy to get. the room was clean and the staff very friendly. I killed two small roaches on the nightstand and my wife killed one. Other than that we liked the place.

Room Tip: rooms were adequate. Killed three small roaches in the room while were there. The breakfast was ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.