We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #90 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms were dirty and smelly and full of bugs (cockroaches). There were stains on the sheets and other guest's trash behind the furniture. The plumbing was terrible; tubs and sink didn't drain and had a "sewer" smell. The breakfast was free for a reason. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeldaDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The evening clerk, a young black woman from Long Island, meade me feel like I was coming home when I returned every evening. The included was excellent.
I did miss that the public television network was not available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cramcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion for two nights while awaiting our Sunday cruise embarkation. We requested the pool side room which has a really nice large pool and a second small one with a fountain. Nice Florida trees and close to good eating places as well as Wal-Mart a couple of blocks away.

One thing my wife and I enjoyed was the complementary breakfasts each morning. They were hot and hard a nice variety with a server juices and coffee. The rooms were so so but for two or three nights we were happy to use the pool, eat a good breakfast and be with in range of shopping we needed before our cruise. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a great time at your hotel, except for the check in. The room was clean, the staff friendly and always willing to help you in any way. We needed a downstairs room, because our daughter is handicap and can't walk upstairs. We requested and were promised a downstairs room, upon making our reservations. When we arrived we were told there was not a downstairs room available until the next day. Upon asking for a pillow and a blanket, so my daughter and I could sleep on the couch, while my husband took the room (due to lateness in day, we were locked into reservation) another desk clerk found us a room on the bottom floor. We will be back and we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet N Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The staff was excellent. When we were there my daughter had the flu the cleaning staff striped the whole room and sanitized it for me.
Front desk staff was great with any of my needs. Wonderful staff would recommend to friends and I would stay again.

Thank you
Heather Lesniak from Toronto Canada

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlesniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice for what you pay. Is not a deluxe hotel, but very convenient to drive anywhere. Hot breakfast is a plus, but needs a bit more variety if you are staying more than 3 days. Ir gets old of eating the same day after day.

Room Tip: Nice for the price. Eggs from breakfast got tiring. Tv in room a bit old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes9104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great hotel for the location and price. It is so close to Busch Gardens and they have a shuttle if you want to take it. It includes a full breakfast eggs, bacon etc. The staff was very helpful and the pool was nice and big. The room was a fine size. It could use alittle updating but it was fine

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mb301_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Tampa near Busch Gardens/USF
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
8.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#54 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
4.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing