We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #96 of 158 hotels in Tampa
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms were dirty and smelly and full of bugs (cockroaches). There were stains on the sheets and other guest's trash behind the furniture. The plumbing was terrible; tubs and sink didn't drain and had a "sewer" smell. The breakfast was free for a reason. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    78
    45
    40
    53
See reviews for
140
59
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The evening clerk, a young black woman from Long Island, meade me feel like I was coming home when I returned every evening. The included was excellent.
I did miss that the public television network was not available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion for two nights while awaiting our Sunday cruise embarkation. We requested the pool side room which has a really nice large pool and a second small one with a fountain. Nice Florida trees and close to good eating places as well as Wal-Mart a couple of blocks away.

One thing my wife and I enjoyed was the complementary breakfasts each morning. They were hot and hard a nice variety with a server juices and coffee. The rooms were so so but for two or three nights we were happy to use the pool, eat a good breakfast and be with in range of shopping we needed before our cruise. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a great time at your hotel, except for the check in. The room was clean, the staff friendly and always willing to help you in any way. We needed a downstairs room, because our daughter is handicap and can't walk upstairs. We requested and were promised a downstairs room, upon making our reservations. When we arrived we were told there was not a downstairs room available until the next day. Upon asking for a pillow and a blanket, so my daughter and I could sleep on the couch, while my husband took the room (due to lateness in day, we were locked into reservation) another desk clerk found us a room on the bottom floor. We will be back and we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff was excellent. When we were there my daughter had the flu the cleaning staff striped the whole room and sanitized it for me.
Front desk staff was great with any of my needs. Wonderful staff would recommend to friends and I would stay again.

Thank you
Heather Lesniak from Toronto Canada

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice for what you pay. Is not a deluxe hotel, but very convenient to drive anywhere. Hot breakfast is a plus, but needs a bit more variety if you are staying more than 3 days. Ir gets old of eating the same day after day.

Room Tip: Nice for the price. Eggs from breakfast got tiring. Tv in room a bit old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great hotel for the location and price. It is so close to Busch Gardens and they have a shuttle if you want to take it. It includes a full breakfast eggs, bacon etc. The staff was very helpful and the pool was nice and big. The room was a fine size. It could use alittle updating but it was fine

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa
Address: 2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.