We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #97 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
1 review
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location if your main visit is Busch Gardens. Good restaurants around and that's about it. Breakfast is advertised, but it sucks. At least it's free though haha. The place is dirty, the rooms in particular. Would benefit from some major upgrades as far as carpeting, furniture, appliances and bedding. The beds were uncomfortable, the carpet DIRTY and stained, bed sheets were stained as well. TV sucked. It's like going back to the 80's or 90's. I was very, very disgusted and disappointed. I guess that's what you get for not researching very well. For the money I paid, I am certain I could have found something way better... Bottom line: DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    82
    51
    49
    61
See reviews for
152
68
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a great hotel for the value. My daughter loves staying here so I book the Clarion every time I come for a visit. It's very family friendly, clean, and the staff has always been very friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Chose one right by the pool so you can just cut across the main lobby. It's worth it if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay at the Clarion every April. We love to take the kids to Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The hotel is 10 min. away from both. It is 30 min. from Tampa airport so it's really easy to get to. There are plenty or restaurants within a mile or two to choose from. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The price is fantastic. How can you go wrong? The pool is the best part of the hotel. It's big and beautiful. There is a separate kids pool and splash area. It's a gigantic pirate ship with all the bells and whistles. All and all, it's a great place for a family to go, have fun and not spend all of your savings on a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed with Fiancee on tour of USA.

Room wasn't beautiful but it didnt have to be. Basic.

Pool area was lovely, hardly anyone was ever in it and had it to ourselves. Gym was big and again empty.

Location was good, Huge TGI Fridays offering cheap prices and nice munch food a 10 second walk away.

Breakfast was good.

Little free shuttle bus to Busch Gardens (which is awesome!).

Enjoyed Tampa, I felt safe all the time, although when walking at night, don't go down the side streets.

Check out Lowry Park Zoo!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

1st room that they sent us to had someone already in it. The room we ended up with was a tiny room rather than the suite. Boogers on bathroom wall. Black mildew in ice bucket, dust balls all over wall behind bed. Homeless people roaming the property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Right across from the University and close to Busch Gardens and 15 mins. from Ybor City for Cuban and Spanish food. Hot breakfast included in room rate is a steal and a nice upgrade compared to the Continental breakfast at most places. Look at their website and you can get a great rate if it is non-refundable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORANGE CITY, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We almost didn't stay here because we are used to high quality hotels. But we were pleasantly surprised. The lobby and staff were great. The pool was a thousand times better than expected. Nice for the kids. Several restaurant were in walking distance. The free breakfast was advertised as a continental.. but they were serving eggs, hashbrowns, sausage and grits!! Our fav part :)
I will only say, they can make this a top notch hotel if they removed the dirty carpet and replaced with tile: upgrade to flat screen TV's: and upgrade the beds to queens. Other than that, MUCH better than expected :) We will stay again, especially when going to Bush Gardens!!

Room Tip: ask for a room by the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.