We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, dilapidated, undesirable, no elevator” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #100 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dated, dilapidated, undesirable, no elevator”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here, thankfully only ONE night, while attending a business meeting in the area.

The staff are friendly, and the breakfast spread was nice, but that's about it.

My room was on the second floor. There is no elevator. Finding the staircase was challenging, and it was narrow and dark. Hauling my suitcase up and down two flights of stairs was not ideal.
Don't expect a bellman.

The tile in the room was cracked (see photo), the baseboards and grout in the bathroom were covered with mold (see photo), and the bathroom door paint was scraped (see photo). In addition, the shower rod was hung higher on both ends, so that the curtain would not stay closed on either end, it automatically slid to the middle, so all during my shower there was an irritating cool breeze.

Good internet service, nice folks at breakfast, but other than that, for $15 or $20 more, you could find something a little nicer on down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    80
    48
    46
    60
See reviews for
146
62
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Appreciated the friendly greeting when we arrived and loved the extra money off for being a hospital patient during the month of October. Good Breakfast, usually friendly staff, and great prices. REALLY appreciate the discount for being a Shriners patient. : ) Like the rooms but they need more deep cleaning. Pool is AWESOME and heated. It is a kid friendly place. Great location for us!

Room Tip: We always like being pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am a Choice Hotel Privileges member - currently Gold Status, in past Diamond and Platinum status (the latter 40 stay nights a year). I had stayed at this hotel in the past, with mixed results, but as this was 1 night, and it is close to Busch Gardens, my destination, I chose it. Big mistake. The hotel has gone downhill big time. Needs paint, carpets stained, huge cracks in grout in bath, etc. The entire look is shabby. When I called it a night and tried to sleep, no luck. Intoxicated yahoos on the breezeway were well into a party. Front desk was no help at all. So I got dressed, packed up, and left for a nearby Sleep Inn, quiet, clean and nice. Ate the points I was assessed for the room. On checking out, I advised the front desk clerk why I was leaving, and stated I would likely never return. The reply? "Uh, whatever". I had a Clarion room booked for the following night in Orlando, but even though it was too late to cancel without losing my points, I also ate those points and booked into a Marriott. I am finished with Clarion. But then, uh, whatever, they don't care do they? By the way, do you have kids? Signs are taped to the front window of the hotel and in the pool area that Tampa police have the right to request people leave the premises or face arrest for trespassing. Hmm, think that might be because non guest troublemakers have been a problem there? I do. Posted by a retired naval officer who travels on leisure trips for 20 to 50 hotel nights a year.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay that was cheap- well, it was cheap, but def old and run down. Stains on carpets in rooms, bathroom was falling apart. Lobby was nice- pretty typical to draw you in, then you get to room and rem that you paid for what you got. Pool is ok- they look like they try to take care of it, but still old, and broken tiles everywhere that they patch- old pirate ship that looks like they grabbed from side of road and rigged it so it worked in their kiddy pool- with that said, kids didnt know any different, and had fun playing in pool area. If your uptight with a dirty room or old room or a little smelly-musty room, then stay away! If your ok with getting what you pay for, and have low expectations, then go ahead and stay here-it served its purpose. We had fun at bush gardens, and at least didnt break the bank with our hotel stay. We used the extra money we saved to eat out so it worked out perfect.

Room Tip: i dont think this matters- they tell you the rooms are a remod, but that must have been years ago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Rooms are very good, clean. but the hall way and stairs are very dirty. Free break fast served fresh and hot. Overall experience is very good. Kids are enjoyed the pool and play ground.I was sceptical of booking because of the low price. I read good reviews from Tripadvisor and booked. Beautiful pool, friendly staff, rooms were average, very good breakfast, close to Busch Gardens. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Back to back

This is the second time I stay at this hotel which us near to Busch Gardens. Price went up very little which is cool, but the following needs attention. The rooms are in need of painting, rug replacement and the furniture looks a bit banged up. The lighting in the bathroom was not working. The mattresses are not comfortable at all. Breakfast Buffet served in the morning is very nice but the portions are very small. Handling large crowds in the morning is not their strong point and the dinning room is not kept clean during the breakfast rush.

Overall if they do these upgrades and maintain the prices low, the Clarion Hotel will be rated a family 5 star hotel!!

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms before your accept it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are dated as is the hotel but overall the property is clean, which is pretty much what most of us want. Rooms are small-ish but comfortable. The staff wishes to please and will do what they can to accommodate your needs. Location is central to many things. Expect friendly, clean and affordable.... That's what you'll get.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#100 Spa Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.