We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #100 of 159 hotels in Tampa
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is great. The staff were very helpful and nice. There is good pool area where you can enjoy your coffee in the morning. The breakfast was OK. My room was clean, yeah a bit old but you get what you paid for. There is T.G.I Friday right next door where you can grab something to eat, a bit far if you are without a car and you want to explore downtown, but still there is a bus next block that goes there ~30/40min. Good place for its budget and area.

Room Tip: I really liked the one on 1st floor near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    78
    48
    44
    57
See reviews for
143
60
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WRIGHTSVILLE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I am sorry but this was not one of our favorite places to stay. The rooms were very dated with old furniture in poor shape and very stained and dirty. Palmetto bugs ran rampant thru our room . As we checked out after our stay we took all of our baggage outside and shook things out before we packed it back into car.
Staff was friendly and did give us back a modest portion of cost of room. Choice motels even gave us additional points which will help us in future if we decide to stay at a choice motel again.
Pool area was nice but very crowded which is to be expected.so we stayed much of our vacation by the pool or away from the room.
The surrounding area is wonderful with plenty of restaurants in area and a great deli (Jasons) across the street.
We just hated the room.

Room Tip: i would suggest a different motel for cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Checked into the hotel and the service at the desk was great. The rooms are very old and they tried to re do the furniture by adding accents of sliver. (looks cheap). The carpets were dirty and we could not tell how dirty because of the lighting at first. We know that our linen was clean because at 4 pm (check in) they were still wet. We then decided to look into the bathroom and found mildew around the handle bar of the bath tub and the seems of tub, on top of that the tub was dirty. After trying to clean up we decided to let our son out and get into the kiddie pool. The mildew and mold mhhh... no way would I let him in it. The next morning we got up to go have breakfast which was just ok, still needed to go out and eat. Check out time was at 11 am and we had the maid standing outside our door as we were getting ready to leave. It has been a while since I have stayed in a Clarion Hotel and we will never do it again. Was not worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: check the room out before you pay, will save a lot of headaches later
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's an older hotel, but clean and service was spectacular! Great kids area at pool, my son had a blast! Close to Busch Gardens with shuttle service offered, and we were quite impressed with breakfast, much better than u usually get when its INCLUDED! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Staff was very courteous; landscaping beautiful; breakfast could be better; however,
hotel dirty in the outside, walls need to be paited, rugs need to be replaced in rooms, covers need to be replaced and washed after each client leaves the hotel, air-conditioning dirty, etc.

Room Tip: Pls check room before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I loved my free breakfast served beside the lobby. The pool is the BIGGEST I have been to at a hotel yet, and everyone greeted me with a smile! the rooms are in good condition, it's a huge property and my kids had such a fun time on that pirate ship kiddy pool! I will be back! Thank you!

Room Tip: get a room close to tgi fridays! the food there is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

the hotel has a nice lobby and thats about it!!!breakfast was ok,room was not clean properly, a/c was not good ,and the room smell musty.very old deco could use some tlc.attendant at desk was nice and friendly. I would not recomend this hotel.luis from west palm beach!!!

Room Tip: no more than 30 dollars a night!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2701 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#100 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.