We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, close to Busch Gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 East Fowler Ave., Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent value, close to Busch Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was close to Busch Gardens, the staff was nice and helpful. The room was clean and very spacious. It was very quiet at night and the breakfast is included. It was an excellent choice for our stay in Tampa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    128
    31
    21
    9
See reviews for
170
62
21
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Excellent place to stay if you are visiting area attractions such as the Busch Gardens or the Museum of Science and Industry. The rooms are clean and very spacious with good running hot water and hot breakfast. The hotel is located in a quiet corner across from USF, despite busy Fowler Avenue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stay in hotels over 300 days a year, and it is always a pleasant surprise to find a 2 star hotel with very good customer service and nice accommodations. This LaQuinta is a great choice- good location, very friendly staff and nice rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights late in December 2013. The property is clean with a few signs of wear. Parking is free and it is close to Busch Gardens and USF. Busch Gardens is not really within walking distance - maybe a mile or a mile and a half. When I arrived early on the first day, I found the desk clerk friendly, but neither of us could hear each other because of the large german shepard barking in the lobby. Others in the lobby shouted over the dog which made it impossible to hear. I left and came back several hours later and my room was ready.

This is a pet friendly hotel, I don't have pets. The next morning at the free breakfast in the same lobby, a man with a small dog in his arms proceded to the waffle maker and made his breakfast. I did not eat there the second morning.

My overall stay was not bad but I think next time to Busch Gardens, I will try a different hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel is not within a short walking distance to food or drink. If you want food or to get a dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had 2 rooms for 3 nights. Both were dirty, found hair, bathroom floor dirty. We were booked for non smoking room, and we're put in a smoking room. We went to the front desk and ask to have the rooms cleaned. They put it in the computer for a deep
Clean. The cleaning staff said no deep clean was on the sheet. We had to argue with the staff about the cleaning of the room.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQGS, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens), responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for sharing details about your stay at the La Quinta Inns & Suites Tampa Bay – U.S.F. (near Busch Gardens). It sounds like you had a disappointing experience, and we understand your concern. We appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns about the condition of your rooms. Our hotels have both designated smoking and non-smoking rooms. Please know we try to accommodate all room type requests if they are available. The cleanliness issues are most concerning and rest assured we will be sharing your feedback both with our housekeeping and front desk teams as it appears we dropped the ball in both departments in taking care of your rooms. Your feedback will help prevent similar situations from happening again. This experience is definitely not what any guest should experience at La Quinta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Nice clean hotel. Beds were doubles instead of queens so not comfortable for 3 people. Breakfast was continental with waffle maker. Staff was friendly. We chose it because it was close to Busch Gardens where we went the morning after getting to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)

Address: 3701 East Fowler Ave., Tampa, FL 33612
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#21 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#44 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The beautiful La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. is newly renovated and located behind Busch Gardens, adjacent to the University of South Florida (host hotel for most USF Sundome functions). There is always plenty to do here: Hard Rock Nightclub at Seminole Casino, Nightlife in Ybor City, Museum of Science and Industry, Florida Aquarium, Adventure Island, Lowry Park Zoo, Florida State Fairgrounds. Don't forget professional sporting events (baseball, football, and hockey). Walk to a variety of great restaurants, or hit the malls (International, University, West Shore). Guests at the La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. are treated with a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Enjoy the heated pool and Jacuzzi and 24-hour fitness center. Rooms are spacious and come with free high-speed Internet access and more. We are in north Tampa between I-75 and I-275, just minutes from the area's renowned Hospitals (Veterans, Cancer Center, Shriner's). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens) Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Inn And Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens)
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.