We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 East Fowler Ave., Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    141
    36
    22
    11
See reviews for
184
67
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, ME
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My son and I flew in to Tampa for a college visit at Univ. of South Florida. Our flight was delayed into Tampa and our arrival was after midnight. I was afraid that we might run into problems but upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman at the front desk and he had our room keys ready to go. We were in the room in less than 5 minutes! The room was fantastic. A wonderful surprise because the rate we got was quite good. Well worth the money. The beds were quite comfy and the decor was very nice. The bathroom was large and clean. There was a mirror and counter located outside the bathroom, which is always nice. Buffet breakfast was in the lobby area and had the basics. Coffee, juice,cereals,fruits and breads as well as a waffle machine. Parking was plenty. Property is located on main road heading into the college campus. Pool is very nice and hot tub is available.

All staff members were very friendly and very welcoming. I felt very comfortable there. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We used our points for an overnight stay and received an upgrade. When we settled into our room, the desk called to make sure we were happy with our accommodations. Being smokers, we are used to having to hang outside the doors however; this La Quinta had a courtyard with gazebo for smokers. Not only were we safe, we had a comfortable place to sit. The room was very comfortable and super clean. We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks to the staff for being so pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

the staff provided excellent service at every encounter. the rooms were quiet spacious and comfortable. the hotel has good security and is very clean. I have only good things to say about the experience and would recoomend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Reservation booked and paid thru Hotel.com, arrived, rooms reserved were not available, hotel front desk staff stated they were unable to accommodate or refund due to booking thru Hotel.com. Management was not available, it was late, to try and navigate another phone call with Hotel. Com, with language barriers, was too stressful after a long drive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located just outside the maingate of Busch Gardens, which makes it ideal for anyone going to Busch Gardens or visiting the greater Tampa area. Only problem is the hotel is Poor at best- I hate to say it and do it, but Id rather other people not have to deal with such a dirty property and waste hard earned money. I picked up this hotel through LaQ website, while in town on business for a day. Upon check in (which was a bit late in the evening) there was a clerk pretty backed up, no problem. When I did get checked in I took the elevator to the 3rd floor and went into the "open corridor" Room (which means no hallways) the room reaked of cigarette smoke after I made it very clear to the clerk I could not stay in a smoking room... In addition to cigarettes- the room next door were smoking something a bit stronger than cigarettes--which seemed to be blowing under my door. I didnt stay 30 seconds- walked out and went downstairs.. I let the clerk know of both problems.. His response was "I have 1 room left" - no sorry, no offer to spray,no nothing" I asked him what if he didnt have any rooms left what would he have done? He did not reply.. He gave me a new room assuring me it was non smoking-- i went all the way to the end of the hotel on the 3rd floor again and boom-- another odor filled room-- the AC didnt work-" either..just a bad facelift by Laquinta overall to an otherwise dump of a property. My clothes in my suitcase all reak of cigarette smoke and I travel everyday so it makes it a bit of a pain and also disgusting..Upon checkout I let the clerk know of my displeasure. She said she was sorry but that was it.. ..No problem.. I just wont spend another buck with LaQuinta until someone lets me know there hotels are back to normal standards.. Im not looking for a palace.. Im looking for a clean, safe, comfortable atmosphere. After all I am paying for it.. Keep your garbage breakfast, your internet never works, and your staff is flat out incompetent to be in the hospitality industry. Just give me a room worth my money...I am attaching a few pics of my sink in the room-- just grimey and gross- I know the staff does not take pride in this. place, and its a shame being in such a high traffic locations like Busch Gardens.. Im sure they stay busy, but I guarantee there repeat business is minimal at best.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)

Address: 3701 East Fowler Ave., Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
#37 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#45 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The beautiful La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. is newly renovated and located behind Busch Gardens, adjacent to the University of South Florida (host hotel for most USF Sundome functions). There is always plenty to do here: Hard Rock Nightclub at Seminole Casino, Nightlife in Ybor City, Museum of Science and Industry, Florida Aquarium, Adventure Island, Lowry Park Zoo, Florida State Fairgrounds. Don't forget professional sporting events (baseball, football, and hockey). Walk to a variety of great restaurants, or hit the malls (International, University, West Shore). Guests at the La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. are treated with a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Enjoy the heated pool and Jacuzzi and 24-hour fitness center. Rooms are spacious and come with free high-speed Internet access and more. We are in north Tampa between I-75 and I-275, just minutes from the area's renowned Hospitals (Veterans, Cancer Center, Shriner's). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens)
La Quinta Inn & Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens) Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.