We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here, it's really gone down!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 East Fowler Ave., Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 158 hotels in Tampa
moviechick65
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't stay here, it's really gone down!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

I have been going to this hotel for 4 years to attend the Busch Gardens Halloween event, Howl O Scream. In the past is was really good and I looked forward to going. This year, The room was not as clean, I asked for a room with a refrigerator and didn't get it, the breakfast as made miserable by a big mouth hotel employee with an attitude. The pool guy kicked us out of the jaccuzi and pool because he needed to clean it... I won't go back. I'll try the Wingate next year. Stay away!

  • Liked — Leavimg early
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    97
    20
    12
    7
See reviews for
125
46
17
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

I stayed here for 3 nights Oct 2007. The hotel is quite new and was VERY clean and the room is quite spacious. I had 2 queen beds and because of the layout of the room, the bathroom feels large also -- really nice in a hotel room! The shower pressure was great!

I worked in my room and had the Do Not Disturb sign on all day - so no maid service. Late afternoon, they left a bag with clean towels, more coffee, soap, etc. etc. on my door -- I thought it was a really nice touch.

My only complaint was that it can be a bit noisy -- you can hear your neighbor's toilet flush or shower etc. It seemed louder than most other hotels --- but I am not a very heavy sleeper.

Breakfast was basic, but I had no complaints. Muffins, good coffee, fruit, cereal, etc. They also have a waffle maker (I didn't use this) but many people seemed to enjoy that.
They also have 24 hrs a day coffee in the lobby --- I loved it!

Would recommend to a friend.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

I stayed at this hotel after reading all the good reviews. The reviews were pretty much right on. The room was very clean and the beds were comfy. The rates do include free breakfast. This consisted of waffles, biscuits and gravy, fruit, bagels, muffins, and cereal. We paid around $100 which i guess is average. This hotel is perfect is you're going to Busch Gardens as it's located right behind it. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

We stayed here one night prior to Moffitt Hospital. It was very convenient, right across the street.
The room was large and clean, the bedding was excellent.
They offered free broadband internet for your laptop.
They have a free breakfast with make it yourself waffles, cereal and milk, chocolate donuts, toast, apple juice and coffee.
We will probably stay there again.
It was a non smoking ADA room on the first floor.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The long walk to the room from the front door (The back door was kept locked)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando,fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2006

We live in Orlando and decided to go to Busch Gardens and the beach before the kids headed back to school. We walked in and asked for one night-a king room was available which we took.
The room was on the 2nd floor. The room itself was very nice, a King bed, a pullout couch, coffee table, desk with high speed connection, tv on dresser, nightstands with alarm clock. The furniture was comfortable and clean. The bathroom had plenty of room and was very clean. We only stayed one night, but had plenty of towels, blankets and pillows.
To get into the building you had to use your key-this was a nice security measure. Although we came back to the room late, we did walk around-the pool and spa area was very nice, and even had a little garden area with a gazebo and bench. The free continental breakfast was great-yummy waffles that you make yourself, yogurt, bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, bananas, coffee and juice. Lots of maps and information on the area in the lobby. The only problem I saw was that there was only one fairly small elevator, so it sometimes made for a long wait since there are 4 floors. The staff was also friendly.
This hotel is very close to everything, including restaurants, stores and Busch Gardens (all within 5 minute drive). We would definitely stay there again if looking for something for just a couple of nights.

  • Liked — the value
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, NJ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

We stayed here 5 nights for college visit and SkatePark of Tampa trip. This was the 2nd year. We had a room on the 2nd floor last time, this time was the first floor. The ceiling was leaking in the bathroom (2x), but fixed quickly when requested. Doors slam closed (not all guests think of others and hold doors to close quietly) which is quite loud when all is quiet in the a.m.

Breakfast in morning (coffee, muffins, toast, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, waffles, fruit, juice) is a plus to get you started.

Located in a "good" spot, although you need a car to get anywhere. Busch Gardens is walkable, but I wouldn't advise it - too far. MANY places to eat, Lowry Park Zoo, MOSI, nearby - Clearwater Beach not too far. All in all a great trip - will look to stay here again next trip.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

This is fairly standard Motel style accommodation with external doors, floor level air conditioning and bathroom at the bottom of the room. It does though have the advantage of having its own swimming pool that was very popular with guests once Busch Gardens had closed. An unusual feature for this level of accommodation was that breakfast was included. It was only rolls, cereal, waffles and coffee but was a good start to the day.

I didn't like the fact that the wash basin was in the bedroom rather than in the bathroom and the air conditioning was not very effective at cooling the whole room.

The rooms were clean although the furnishing and carpet was looking a bit tired.

The hotel is well situated for Busch gardens, being opposite the gardens although it was about a mile to the main entrance. This is not somewhere you go for evening strolls as it looks a bit of a seedy area and there is a six lane highway on two sides of the hotel.

There are a large number of fast food outlets and restaurants within a few hundred yards of the hotel although you do have to cross at least 1 busy highway to get to most of them.

The real plus for this hotel was the extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful receptionist. Such service can make all the difference to a stay and is unusual in hotels of this level (i.e. cheap!).

If you are going to Busch Gardens and spending a few days here this is a good choice but you would be probably better looking nearer the beach areas for longer stays or if you are not visiting Busch Gardens.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens) Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Inn & Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens) Hotel
La Quinta Inn And Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens)
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta
Address: 3701 East Fowler Ave., Tampa, FL 33612
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tampa
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#19 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The beautiful La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. is newly renovated and located behind Busch Gardens, adjacent to the University of South Florida (host hotel for most USF Sundome functions). There is always plenty to do here: Hard Rock Nightclub at Seminole Casino, Nightlife in Ybor City, Museum of Science and Industry, Florida Aquarium, Adventure Island, Lowry Park Zoo, Florida State Fairgrounds. Don't forget professional sporting events (baseball, football, and hockey). Walk to a variety of great restaurants, or hit the malls (International, University, West Shore). Guests at the La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. are treated with a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Enjoy the heated pool and Jacuzzi and 24-hour fitness center. Rooms are spacious and come with free high-speed Internet access and more. We are in north Tampa between I-75 and I-275, just minutes from the area's renowned Hospitals (Veterans, Cancer Center, Shriner's). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.