We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not high brow, but good for an over night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4955 East 18th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Not high brow, but good for an over night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was going on a cruise Labor Day weekend and the Republican National Convention was in town at the same time (ugh, what a nightmare). We could not find a hotel to save our lives. We booked at some hole in clearwater for $175 with no shuttle service or anything to the port. Fast forward to a week before the cruise and Hurricane Isaac changed our luck :) This hotel suddenly had a couple empty rooms and honored their cruise and park specials. It's a newer hotel, hard to find as GPS tells you to travel south on 41 when you want to go north off of I4. Remember you want to turn at the SHell station at 41 and Melbourne then turn left right behind the Shell where you'll see crappy Days Inn...just keep going down that road and you'll see Quality Inn around the bend.

The staff was VERY friendly (Hi Bobby...helped me with directions), rooms were very clean and the hotel is newer. We were able to park 2 cars there. The shuttle to the port was great (I need to leave a review for the man that owned the service. He was a gem). and pickup after the cruise was quick and painless.

I'd highly recommend staying here if you have a special event and just need a place to sleep. I didn't give it 5 stars as there is no where to walk to eat and the 'hood isn't the best. Oh, my friends said the pool was nice, but the music was a pain as we could hear it in our room and we were trying to rest. But eventually you don't notice it.

I'm sure normal prices are more reasonable, but we did pay much more due to the convention. but it was worth it as there was NO WHERE ELSE TO STAY in that city. The breakfast was your usual carby fair LOL, but at least you can get something before heading out.

There is a food service that is mostly Italian food that will deliver room service. We just ordered pizza and it was pretty good (says the girl originally from Chicago...I don't say that easily). LOL

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    157
    40
    10
    9
See reviews for
122
181
27
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
live oak
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

stayed here two nights, was kinda leary because of the location, but it turned out to be a nice clean place. staff was helpful and the breakfast was average. it was available until 1030 on the weekends which was nice after a long night at the casino you could sleep in a little later. we have a king suite with a seperate living area. two bathrooms which was very nice. we would stay again in the future. wanted a first floor room, was told they were booked. there was not hardly any cars in the parking lot both nights. cons: stayed in the second building which was a nice walk to the first building to get breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our family of 6 (aged 5-72) booked one of their suites prior to our cruise. It is an ideal place to be. Very near the Port Authority. They provide a free shuttle to the dock and they will pick you up after you return from your cruise; all you need to do is call. Also, you may leave your vehicle there free of charge until you return. We had booked one of their large suites to sleep 6; unfortunately the pull out couch for Gram and PaPa was AWFUL - BUT all it took was a phone call to the desk and Gram and PaPa were comp'd a king room at no charge. We were very grateful for that and had a wonderful nights rest. The surrounding neighborhood is NOT a walking neighborhood but we weren't there for evening walks. VERY close to downtown Ybor City. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Recently just stayed 2 nights on July 3rd and 4th. The hotel itself is right off I4, room was clean. Exactly what we needed. Neighborhood across the way isn't the best but still a good hotel. Just 3 miles to downtown ybor and some good bars. Kind of a journey to find a supermarket, you have to stop by Brocatos just down the street, amazing food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteno, IL
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was once a Holiday Inn that kept getting worse and was finally abandoned. Quality Inn came in and gave it a facelift. I stayed several years back when it was brand new. It was not bad and very affordable. I had a free night stay so I tried it again. Big mistake. It has not aged well. The carpet was disgusting. The lock on the door was almost broken off as you could tell someone had attempted to break in. The refrigerator made very loud noises periodically. It is in a bad part of town also. And if you want to use the internet be prepared for VERY slow service. I also itched all night. Was afraid there were bedbugs, but never saw any so not sure what that was. Never again for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great quality, and value and quit surprising. We did not expect a quality inn to be so nice. Everything was clean and in good order. The breakfast was the typical continental style but adequate. Yes its in the middle of a rough area but we felt safe. I definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Decent average facilities. Carpets are pretty dingy and AC unit vent in my room looked like it hadn't ever been cleaned out. My slight asthma was truggered dutung my entire 2-night stay.

Hotel is located in the middle of a depressed area of town - not Ybor City proper, so be aware of that. Not much around in terms of restaurants, etc. You will need a car to get around. Staff immediately upgraded me to larger room upon check-in since my initial room had a very dirty toilet commode.

Worse part of stay was waking up this morning to a bedbug crawling on my arm, despite conducting a good search for any signs of them when i came in. No bites on me but, I caught the bug alive and showed it hotel staff. Staff indicated they knew of bedbug problem in another room and thought it was eradicated. Staff was understanding, helping me to put my clothes in dryer for a time to kill off any lingering bugs and promised me a refund of my prepaid costs.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City

Address: 4955 East 18th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#9 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Tampa hotel near Ford Amphitheatre at Florida State Fairgrounds. Conveniently located in the heart of Tampa's business district, the brand new Quality Inn & Suites is minutes away from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino, Ford Amphitheatre at Florida State Fairgrounds and the Port of Tampa. This Tampa, FL hotel is also close to popular attractions and venues like Ybor City, St. Pete Times Forum, the Tampa Convention Center, Raymond James Stadium and Busch Gardens theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City Hotel Tampa
Quality Inn And Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Quality Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.