We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big suite at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8210 Hidden River Parkway, Tampa, FL 33637   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Busch Gardens Offer
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Big suite at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have come to expect "suite" to mean that a couch and microwave have been stuffed into a room. We were pleasantly surprised to find a real suite. Our suite had a kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator, full-sized dishwasher, two-burner stove, microwave, sink, dishes, pots and pans, etc. The living room had a couch which made into a bed and their were two closets in the suite.
The bed in the bedroom was comfortable and the bathroom had a separate vanity area. The pocket-door at the beginning of the bathroom area and the bedroom door provided for privacy and quiet.
The breakfast was basic but adequate.
This place is a good value for traveling families or anyone who wants lots of space for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay! Thank you so much for posting a review, we do our best to make sure each and every guest has a great stay at our hotel. We hope that you will visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Heather Fogle
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    98
    33
    22
    13
See reviews for
198
82
18
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have stayed here twice and have experienced the same each time. Everyone is nice and everything is quite clean. My daughter is being treated at the shriners hospital, the staff here are very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you! We are so happy you and your family had a wonderful stay with us! We strive to make all our guest’s feel that this is their home away from home. We hope to see you on your next visit to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Heather Fogle
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at the Hampton Inn in Tampa just outside of Busch Gardens, The service was excellent they had a shuttle available to transport us to and from the parks , the complimentary breakfasts and dinner were out of this world the staff was so kind the pool was well maintained the overall stay was outstanding I would recommend this Hampton Inn to everyone we had a great time Thanks for everything !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! Our staff works exceptionally hard to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable during their stay with us. We hope that you will return soon.

Sincerely,

Heather Fogle
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and had a great experience. The hotel is updated. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and fresh. The breakfast area is small and congested, but they still have most all the items found at any other Hampton breakfast service. Overall a great experience and we will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were in Tampa mainly for Busch Gardens/Adventure Island from July 5-July13.

The good - The staff. For the most part the staff was great. Helpful and always greeting everyone hello with a smile. The room was clean. The complimentary breakfast did not have many choices for hot food but served its purpose. Apparently there was complimentary dinner from Monday through Thursday (we were hardly in the hotel but saw it one time when we came back to the hotel when it was being served.)

The bad - We were in room 318 which was a suite with a kitchen. It seems that the air conditioning system was being worked on so for the first few days the hallways were uncomfortable. The right stove did not work - we could have asked to be moved but to move a whole family is painful and we survived on the one that did work. Besides, the interaction with the front desk (read below) turned me off from wanting to ask them for anything unless desperate. There was no sponge to wash dishes, however they did have dish washing detergent, plates and one pot and one pan. They didn't have knives (maybe we could have asked and they would have provided - so call and ask).
If you liked working out but did not want to go run out in the heat / humidity this is not the hotel for you. It had one treadmill, one stationary bike, and one elliptical machine. No free weights but a "universal" machine if you wanted to work on strength.

We were there for 8 full days so I made sure that the hotel had a washing machine for the guests. Well there was ONE washer and ONE dryer. If you have a family of five and traveling and wanted to wash your clothes so you don't have to bring so much clothes this is NOT the place for you. Throughout our stay there was a woman who was washing her hotel sheets and towels (OCD?). And another time I had clothes in the dryer and even before my time was up someone had taken my clothes out and put in five pairs of wet dirty shoes but didn't even run the dryer! for an hour. You need a card key to get in the tiny laundry room but couldn't tell me who did that so therefore I lost time on getting my clothes cleaned.

The UGLY - We arrived at 3:05 P.M. to check in. There was a family before us also wanting to check in. I understand that the hotel must have been busy from the holiday weekend but it was the attitude of Jonathan at the front desk that was most surprising. The woman was rude and frankly I did not like her attitude at all. However she was rude and they should have still given customer service. Not ONE time did Jonathan or anyone else (Tanya and Tasha were also there - who looked like they were deers caught in headlights) did they apologize for not having the rooms ready. They kept on saying that they were doing an inspection at the moment and it would be available soon. Then Jonathan said that they can leave and go somewhere else. Even if he said it nicely, unless they were violent you should NEVER suggest such a thing. Clearly with three small children that would be a crazy thing to suggest so I was disgusted for the remainder of the trip. They would have been fine I am sure if Jonathan just said "I'm really sorry but the rooms are not available yet and provide perhaps an explanation of their process. "We are happy to take your luggage and store, give you water, etc" , ANYTHING!!!) I am witnessing all this and since I have three small children going crazy at them moment and totally disgusted by this I try to keep my composure. Maybe 3:30 we were told our room was ready (maybe a few minutes after) They should have managed our expectations rather than saying that it will be ready any minute. We could have gone out and came back but it would have been honest - they could have said that they can guarantee a late check out....anything. Where was the CUSTOMER SERVICE. There was NO information about the complimentary dinner that they were offering. There was a sign of hotel guest of the day, what was that about? They said they would give me three bottles of water as a HHonors member but they only gave it to me two days later after I asked for it and they only gave me two. and it wasn't even the Dasani that they were showing. Small detail but I was annoyed at this point.
If they were inspecting the rooms they would have noted that one stove was not working. Could have notified us that the air conditioner on the 3rd floor was not working properly temporarily.

I agree with all the positives from the reviews. But there were bad seeds

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you were less than impressed with our property and amenities and for the misstep made by our team. We try to be consistent and courteous in this area because we know how important a knowledgeable team is and we're sorry that we let you down. We have shared your review with our front desk and housekeeping staffs in the hopes of preventing a similar situation in the future. We hope the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again so we can show you our commitment to great guest service!

Thank you,

Heather Fogle, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed four days and nights in this wonderful hotel. We checked in Monday, July 14, 2014 and checked out Friday morning, July 18, 2014. The area is beautiful and quiet. I thoroughly enjoyed walking around the beautiful area of the hotel. The breakfast each day was very good. Ms Pam Calhoun, Guest Service Ambassador was Awesome. She made us feel welcomed and at home. She greeted all of the guests with a smile and cheerful greeting. She made sure that everyone was taken care of. Ms Pam. went over and beyond the call of duty. The morning we checked out, we ate breakfast before we traveled back home. Corn beef hash was on the menu that morning. My husband wanted his cooked a little crispy and Ms Pam cooked a plate of corn beef hash just like my husband wanted. She is an excellent example of how great customer service should be. We would definitely stay at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-North again whenever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Wow! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay! Thank you so much for posting a review, we do our best to make sure each and every guest has a great stay at our hotel. We hope that you will visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in this nice, quiet property. The staff went above and beyond. They served breakfast and lunch. The guest service ambassador was the best of all. She made sure every family was happy and taken care of. Would most definitely stay again if in the Tampa area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Address: 8210 Hidden River Parkway, Tampa, FL 33637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#12 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get in touch with nature and get to know the rich cultural heritage of Tampa, the heart and pulse of the Tampa Bay area including St. Petersburg and Clearwater. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-North offers a free local shuttle service to area attractions and corporate businesses in and around the area. Our award-winning hotel provides excellent service and accommodations; we are located just off I-75 in a quiet, natural preserve business district called Hidden River Corporate Park.Step out your door and prepare for adventure, because our hotel in Tampa is only about a mile from the Wilderness Park reserve, and less than five minutes from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. Find more family activities in the nearby Channelside District, an entertainment-dining multiplex just east of downtown that is home to the Florida Aquarium, a glass-domed marine wonderland. Our hotel in Tampa also makes it easy to delve into history at Tampa Bay History Center; get a taste of the local Cuban culture in Ybor City; and enjoy the nightlife in the SoHo district. Stop by the front desk, and our Tampa hotel team will offer insightful tips on the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn And Suites Tampa - North
Hampton Inn Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.