We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8210 Hidden River Parkway, Tampa, FL 33637   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Busch Gardens Offer
Ranked #11 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nikole made me feel very welcome with free dinner, breakfast and a warm personality. She is a professional, hospitable individual. My bed was comfortable and I really appreciated the amenities. My stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    93
    28
    22
    12
See reviews for
182
77
17
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great stay, very clean! Extremely accommodating staff, especially Nicole! So many more services than you usually get at a hotel. Loved the outdoor pool and gym facility. Breakfast is 6-10, so all us late risers can actually eat, warm too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I rate this Hampton Inn as average, as I have stayed in much better Hampton Inns elsewhere. Our room was definitely nothing to rave about. The bathroom seemed rather old, the grout was molding and obviously someone had done some messy sealing around the tub/shower, and we did find a few "hairs" around the sink (which is just disgusting). The bed did not have your typical white fluffy new-looking comfortor on it - instead it was rather flat and didn't seem quite as clean as I would expect. The pillows were downright mushy - but if you like mushy feather pillows, then you're in luck. Oh, and the cleaning staff was nice enough to leave a half-eaten banana in the fridge.

The breakfast at a Hampton Inn is usually one of the reasons I pick this hotel chain, but this particular one was so busy with tourists that every single table was full, people were grabbing food with their bare hands, and there seemed to be one poor lady trying to keep all of the items full. It was a mess, so my only choice was to grab what I could and get out of there. No fresh fruit anywhere, which was very disappointing. You have your typical waffles, cheerios and raisin bran, fake eggs, bread products that were touched with bare hands, and juices. What happend to fresh fruit and granola bars? They've changed out for the cheap stuff and it shows.

Overall, this hotel is purely average - and the price we paid was way too much for just an average hotel. There are so many others in the area, many of them getting good ratings as well, so I would try one of those and pay a cheaper rate. If I were to visit this area again, I am disappointed to say that I would absolutely not return to this hotel. Hampton Inn needs to keep these hotels updated and clean and return to the "feel" of their above-average rooms they used to have 5-10 years ago.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We're dedicated to friendly service and clean, comfortable surroundings, for each guest, each time they visit us. I'm terribly sorry that we did not do a better job of offering you this during your most recent stay. I can assure you the cleanliness issues and service inconsistencies have been addressed and we're keeping your feedback in mind for future training opportunities. We appreciate your dedication and loyalty to our brand and hope that we'll have another opportunity to serve you with the Hamptonality you expect and deserve.

Kind regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Check-in was fast and hassle-free. This was important, as I was not entirely sober, having spent the day with wenches, lords, and other inibreates (is that really a word?) at the Renaissance Festival in Tampa. We asked for (and got) a room away from the elevator, and it was quiet. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were so comfortable we took them apart to find the make and model the next morning. I was especially pleased with the heat/cool controls. Very effecient & quiet. There is the garbage bin noise at 9:00 AM (as mentioned by another reviewer), but we did not experience hallway noise. The "hot" breakfast is pretty standard fare, with bland eggs and tasty sausage. The rest is as usual. The staff was friendly, but not especially accomodating. They seemed to have a job, and do it, but not really liking it. A shame, as that is the difference between 4 & 5 stars.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the elevator as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was worth driving a little further north to stay at this Hampton. The property is nice, the hotel is updated and taken care of nicely. The staff was very friendly and efficient. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Super clean rooms. Spacious and comfortable. The included breakfast offers a nice selection as well. The staff were very friendly. A great place to overnight or to spend several days if staying in the Tampa area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We chose this Hampton because of its location and bases on a prior stay here about 8 years ago. While nothing went terribly wrong, this was not a typical Hampton experience for us.

The hotel was under-staffed and the front desk clerk was clearly stressed - but thankfully not rude. We were upgraded to a suite, so that was an appreciated bonus. However, our request for extra pillows went unfilled.

The room had very worn furniture, including a chair that barely had any cover left. There were a variety of other nuisances - blinds that wouldn't fully close, stiff and loose bathroom fixtures, and un-vacuumed halls. There are renovations underway, so if you stay here request a renovated room.

In the future, we will probably seek other Hampton (or similar chain) options.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We value your loyalty to our hotel and our brand. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we currently undergo some growing pains. Your comments about the maintenance concerns, while not excusable, come at a perfect time. We'll keep this in mind as go through our renovations and will address the poor service levels you experienced. We hope you'll come back and let us know what you think of our changes.

Best Regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Address: 8210 Hidden River Parkway, Tampa, FL 33637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#10 Business Hotel in Tampa
#13 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get in touch with nature and get to know the rich cultural heritage of Tampa, the heart and pulse of the Tampa Bay area including St. Petersburg and Clearwater. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-North offers a free local shuttle service to area attractions and corporate businesses in and around the area. Our award-winning hotel provides excellent service and accommodations; we are located just off I-75 in a quiet, natural preserve business district called Hidden River Corporate Park.Step out your door and prepare for adventure, because our hotel in Tampa is only about a mile from the Wilderness Park reserve, and less than five minutes from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. Find more family activities in the nearby Channelside District, an entertainment-dining multiplex just east of downtown that is home to the Florida Aquarium, a glass-domed marine wonderland. Our hotel in Tampa also makes it easy to delve into history at Tampa Bay History Center; get a taste of the local Cuban culture in Ybor City; and enjoy the nightlife in the SoHo district. Stop by the front desk, and our Tampa hotel team will offer insightful tips on the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tampa - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.