We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The breakfast was lovely, and so was Pam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8210 Hidden River Parkway, Tampa, FL 33637   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Busch Gardens Offer
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
“The breakfast was lovely, and so was Pam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We came the day before Thanksgiving to meet our son and his family and go to Busch Gardens. The property is lovely - newly upgraded, clean and well cared for. The complementary breakfast is very complete including hot oatmeal, hot fresh waffles with three fruit toppings and the usual syrups, fruit (cut and whole), cereals, pastries, juices and coffee and tea. Best of all is the lady who keeps it all stocked and fresh by the name of Pam. Friendly, helpful and just a joy to encounter on Thanksgiving!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    108
    34
    23
    13
See reviews for
210
90
19
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 2 days. The rate was the cheapest around. This surprised me as the room had a full kitchen, family room and a king bed. The morning breakfast was good and in the evening had the managers reception. Great quality for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here twice in the last 8 months and have always loved this property. First, I cannot compliment the staff enough, they are all friendly and very accommodating. The property is being renovated but don't let that stop you, they have done everything to make the process painless for their guests.
They have a very good hot breakfast, afternoon hors d'oeuvers, and chocolate chip cookies at night. They also have a free shuttle to take you to local restaurants, shopping, etc. The price is an excellent value for what they do for you. They make you feel like they appreciate you as their guests. Kudos to the management.
A real pleasure to stay here, you will love it,

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located just off I-75 near the University of South Florida. It is conveniently located to most North Tampa businesses and attractions. The service was excellent, the room was spacious and well appointed. The room was quiet, clean, the bed firm and the bath nice. Free WIFI of course. The breakfast was very good with a good variety of hot and cold items

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I spent a month in this hotel. The staff is nice, the facility is clean. The rooms are very nice with a total of 47 channel to watch on tv. Breakfast is good every morning, and you there's a manager banquet from Monday to Thursday.

Room Tip: If your traveling alone, get a King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Was there for a trip to Busch Gardens. From booking the stay to check out ,this was exceptional service !!! The draw back was a very badly maintained out door pool. Nikole was an exceptional host and I will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This wasn't a bad Hampton Inn, just not to the quality I've come to expect with the brand. My room was clean and large, but furnishings were old and tired. It was convenient to USF, which is where I needed to be for work.

They use the old window unit HVAC systems with no thermostat which can be loud and impossible to control temperature in the room. I ended up just turning the thing off so I could sleep peacefully. Since it was October, it stayed comfortable in the room.

Another annoyance is that the bathroom fan runs with the light on--no option to turn it off. I find that annoying since, like most ladies, I have to spend some time in front of the mirror getting ready in the morning. (The only other mirror in the room was behind the TV which was very odd. I believe that goes back to the out-of-date furniture.)

Last minor annoyance I'll mention, they have the old built-in hair dryers that don't work very well. When most hotels only had those, I always traveled with my own hair dryer. Since most hotels have moved to regular dryers, I don't bother bringing my own. I know men will read this and think it's a silly comment but any woman with thick and/or long hair should understand.

Construction was taking place in the lobby, but I arrived at night when work was not taking place--so no disruptions to guests in the evenings.

Breakfast was good. That was the typical Hampton Inn quality I expect. And they begin at 6:00 a.m. which helps me tremendously since I had to leave the hotel by 6:15 a.m. Several other similiar brands don't start breakfast until later so I often miss that benefit.

Service was very good. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall, the hotel was fine. If my travels take me to this area again, I would probably not stay here and try something else instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to the thermostat and bathroom fan in your guestroom. I've worked with our engineers to examine the issues, however I apologize that it disrupted your stay. We are so glad our staff could show you our warm Hamptonality and that our quick and efficient breakfast proved to be beneficial. We’ll be sure to look into your other comments as we review our refresh options. Thank you again for your suggestions and we would love to see you again, whether business or pleasure.

Heather Fogle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Address: 8210 Hidden River Parkway, Tampa, FL 33637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get in touch with nature and get to know the rich cultural heritage of Tampa, the heart and pulse of the Tampa Bay area including St. Petersburg and Clearwater. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-North offers a free local shuttle service to area attractions and corporate businesses in and around the area. Our award-winning hotel provides excellent service and accommodations; we are located just off I-75 in a quiet, natural preserve business district called Hidden River Corporate Park.Step out your door and prepare for adventure, because our hotel in Tampa is only about a mile from the Wilderness Park reserve, and less than five minutes from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. Find more family activities in the nearby Channelside District, an entertainment-dining multiplex just east of downtown that is home to the Florida Aquarium, a glass-domed marine wonderland. Our hotel in Tampa also makes it easy to delve into history at Tampa Bay History Center; get a taste of the local Cuban culture in Ybor City; and enjoy the nightlife in the SoHo district. Stop by the front desk, and our Tampa hotel team will offer insightful tips on the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tampa - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.