We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Beyond Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8210 Hidden River Parkway, Tampa, FL 33637   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Busch Gardens Offer
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Way Beyond Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here on our way to dropping her off to college at USF. First of all, the room was almost perfect (AC was a bit noisy but didn't prevent us from sleeping soundly). We took a nice dip in the pool after the long car ride, which felt amazing. To top things off, there was a Manager's reception that exceeded all expectations. Cheese and crackers, chips and dip, spaghetti and meatballs and ravioli - to name a few things. There was also some decent beer and wine to wash it down with. The Assistant Manager (Regina?) was all over the place welcoming people and bringing seconds. The folks at the desk were as friendly as could be. All in all, I can't remember enjoying a hotel stay this much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    143
    48
    24
    17
See reviews for
286
120
21
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We took a cab from the airport which cost us $55. When we got to the hotel we were informed that they did not provide shuttle to the cruise terminal and there local shuttle transportation only went to Busch Garden. It was disappointing since we only book this hotel based on the transportation information provided on the expedia website. Although we arrived after breakfast area Pam was able to find us food which was really nice of her since we were starving. Anywho decided to go swimming but we rushed out 10 mins later since there were so many lizards around it was over 10 and that creeped me out. The hotel address really live up to its name it is very hidden and there are nothing nearby no restaurants, shopping mall. The managers reception (food, popcorn, beer, wine)was nice to have that night since we would have been spending at least $40 in taxi to go to a restaurant, Nicole def made us felt almost at home that night..The carpet in the room was a bit outdated however the bed was comfortable..We would only stay at this hotel again if I have rental car and our only purpose was to visit busch garden.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights, we prepaid through Busch Gardens website and were VERY disappointed. The hotel is very dark inside, needs major updating, and has a sign on the inside of the door that says don't open this door for strangers. It has a free breakfast which is nice, but one day we were a little coming down stairs for it and they were taking away items while we were trying to fill our plates. I have stayed at several Hampton Inns and this is probably the worst one.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry for your experience; we are working on improving our entire hotel. We have addressed our staff in regards to the breakfast situation, and again we apologize for the inconveniences. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed here with 5 other people because we had a class for 3 days and it's always a great experience. The whole staff always make sure that we have everything we need not only in our rooms but also during our meetings. The ladies at the breakfast & dinner time are always very friendly even @ 6am. I work for a restaurant and customer service is very important and they definitely take customer service to the extreme. This hotel is our go to place for every meeting not only because it's the most centralized, but also because we know that they will deliver excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in a two room suite while visiting Busch Gardens. The room was very clean and well maintained (showing a little wear but not too bad). The Hotel is located in a nice wooded area, close to the park. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for several nights while we visited relatives in the area. Hotel is located close to I-75 on a quiet street. Parking is plentiful, and many stores and restaurants are a short drive away. We did not try the breakfast because it seemed crowded and busy, so we chose a nearby restaurant instead. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly. The bathroom fan was annoying because it was loud and came on every time the light was turned on. The wall unit a/c did not keep the room consistently cool during the night. Other than those two problems, our stay here was pleasant.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I am a loyal HHonors Silver member just a stay or two shy of going Gold and pulled in at this Hampton after deciding to add an impromptu trip to Busch Gardens onto my stay in the area. The location is in a business park and within 5 miles of Busch Gardens and appeared clean and maintained. I was able to get a room right away and spent just enough time in the third floor room to give it the once over and drop my bags before heading back out for a day at Busch Gardens. Upon return however, everything took a nose dive. Within 5 minutes of settling in for the night, I discovered a lizard in the bathroom floor that ran out into the room and under the main room door and out into the hotel hallway. Acknowledging that I had observed several of these lizards on sidewalks throughout the city, I dismissed it since it had atleast fled my particular room. Now though, no sooner as I sat down on my bed, a spider was crawling across the bedspread. Though it was probably hilarious to hear me scream while whacking it to death with the tv remote, it was a big problem. I called the front desk and was told by the clerk that he couldn't offer a refund but would switch my room. I agreed, initially. However, in the 2 minutes it took me to hang up the phone, grab my purse and one suitcase and direct my teen to follow me back to the lobby, a third creepy crawly presented itself in the room. It was a red and black hard shelled something, possibly of the beetle variety, but mostly it was a deal breaker. When I got to the front desk, the clerk had my keys ready for a new room but I told him we were just checking out instead. He offered a 50% refund at this point even though there is a sign affixed to the counter plainly stating "If you aren't 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay." I obviously wan't satisfied and had only spent 20 minutes tops in the room total. I'm not confrontational at all though and took the 50% refund figuring I would just call the general manager the next day who would gladly refund the rest to my credit card or apply an equivalent amount of points to my HHonors account. I did make that call but I was sent to the gm's voicemail and she has yet to call me back. Go figure. I'm not burned on the Hilton brand overall but I will say this isn't my first issue with the Hampton line and I don't intend to honor brand loyalty anymore if a Hampton is the only Hilton brand option in an area I am needing to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
12.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
7.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
3.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa / USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Address: 8210 Hidden River Parkway, Tampa, FL 33637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tampa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#10 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get in touch with nature and get to know the rich cultural heritage of Tampa, the heart and pulse of the Tampa Bay area including St. Petersburg and Clearwater. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-North offers a free local shuttle service to area attractions and corporate businesses in and around the area. Our award-winning hotel provides excellent service and accommodations; we are located just off I-75 in a quiet, natural preserve business district called Hidden River Corporate Park.Step out your door and prepare for adventure, because our hotel in Tampa is only about a mile from the Wilderness Park reserve, and less than five minutes from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. Find more family activities in the nearby Channelside District, an entertainment-dining multiplex just east of downtown that is home to the Florida Aquarium, a glass-domed marine wonderland. Our hotel in Tampa also makes it easy to delve into history at Tampa Bay History Center; get a taste of the local Cuban culture in Ybor City; and enjoy the nightlife in the SoHo district. Stop by the front desk, and our Tampa hotel team will offer insightful tips on the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn And Suites Tampa - North
Hampton Inn Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.