We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3035 North Rocky Point Drive E., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #80 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Wirral, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ok for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night before our cruise out of Tampa. The information desk at the airport rang to arrange a shuttle. The shuttle arrived within 10 minutes and it was only about a 5 minutes drive or so to the hotel from there. We checked in quickly and we were given information about the free wifi and somewhere to eat. The only place nearby is Bahama Breeze. We tried to eat there but it was a Saturday night and it was extremely busy. The wait time was about 90 minutes for a table and after a long flight from the UK we did not want to wait. We took the take out option which we waited about 30 minutes for. The food was delicious when we ate it back in our room. Bahama Breeze is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

The room itself was ok. One of the beds was not very clean but the other was and we only needed one bed so that was ok and we didn't report it. Unfortunately the allocated room was on the ground floor near to the exit which I did not like but it was ok as we were only there for 1 night.

Breakfast the next morning was good and I enjoyed learning how to use the waffle machine and they tasted good.

The pool was small but ok for a brief visit to sit outside in the sun before check out.

We booked a shuttle to the cruise port on check in for 11am. We were still waiting for them to return about 40 minutes later as they were very busy taking people at 11am but it was ok and probably better timing to arrive later anyway as there was a huge line at the terminal just to get inside the terminal to try and check in.

Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, guest input helps us improve future customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    111
    68
    48
    14
See reviews for
86
125
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have to say i, checked in with Greg at the front desk and he was so nice he was on the phone with the customer trying to cancel there reservation for that night and the customer was yelling on the phone and greg was just as nice as can be. He had a great disposition about he and handled himself wonderful. I have stayed at this hotel several times and the people here are great. I have to give this hotel a pat on the back cause you can tell the management has changed and it has changed for the better. Also the last time i was here Geno at the front desk was so helpful and so was masrina i think that is how you spell her name Thank you guys can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Hampton Inn at Rocky Point is situated in a nice, quiet location being convenient for the airport and quick access to the main road leading to St Petersburg/Clearwater.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and breakfast was adequate but as others have attested on this site, the hotel in general is starting to look fairly tatty with worn carpets and dowdy furnishings. A complete refurbishment is apparently due and it cannot come soon enough to bring this hotel up to the usual Hampton standards.

This hotel does offer the bonus of a welcome complimentary shuttle service between the airport and the hotel. However, bear in mind that the hotel does not appear on the hotel contact board in the airport so you will either have to ring them yourself when you arrive or ask the helpful Information Desk at the airport to ring on your behalf. Also, be aware that there are several Hampton Inns in Tampa and they use different shuttle buses so don't assume that the one that arrives will actually be going to your hotel - be sure to check with the driver first.

If you are considering a stay of one or two nights, perhaps prior to or after a cruise, then this would be ideal but for a longer stay then I would consider elsewhere until refurbishment has been completed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
I appreciate that you took the time to post a review, we have started renovations in all public area and will be started the rooms next. This will be a full renovation, we hope you come back and stay with us and enjoy the new and improved Hampton Inn Rocky Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were traveling with a group of 13 on the NCL Dawn. leaving from Tampa on 4/13/2014. We have stayed here 2 previous times and told everyone in our group this is the place to stay!
We purchased the stay and park option, it included our overnight accomodations, transfers to and from the cruise port and parking for 7 days. The price is reasonable, and the rooms and the rest of the hotel is top-notch! I can't say enough about the staff...from my many phone calls before we arrived (to keep adding rooms to our reservations) to the front desk staff that welcomed us so professional and helpful...and the upgrades to the lobby and breakfast areas were great. (the breakfast buffet was hot and plentiful!)

If you are looking for a great place to stay during your travels to Tampa, don't hesitate to book your room at this Hampton Inn! You can bet when we come back to Tampa, we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Google Translation
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradenton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Hotel was next to Spine Institute. Room was very good. Price was OK. Excellent restaurant next door. Easy drive to this location. Breakfast was very good. Cookies at front desk at night. Shower was water saver but was still OK. Wireless computer in room was excellent and easy to log on to. My wife had surgery so we needed quiet night with a comfortable bed and we got that. Price was good compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Appreciate the feedback, happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The price is reasonable...everything was clean...and we felt safe...!!! We ate the complimentary breakfast, every day. The all day availability of coffee was nice...and there was an endless supply of complimentary waters. The pool was clean and private...the fitness room was nice...the scale kept us mindful...:)...We would stay again...and we recommend this hotel...!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edisto Island, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was a great place to stay prior to our cruise. The shuttle service worked very well both to and from the cruise terminal. The hotel is very clean, serves a nice breakfast and has a walking trail and restaurant within walking distance. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had an amazing cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Address: 3035 North Rocky Point Drive E., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.