We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended- Will definitely stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Busch Gardens

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Busch Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11408 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #40 of 159 hotels in Tampa
miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended- Will definitely stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

My hotel stay was pleasant. Definitely a value for the price.It seemed newly renovated and the rooms were spacious. The beds were soft and the bedding was clean. The location of the television in the room, allows you to watch while in bed or sitting on the sofa. There was a good selection of channels and I felt safe while in the hotel. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and will return. I finally found a nice hotel in this area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    110
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
139
62
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

This hotel is in an AMAZING location. As soon as you turn out of the hotel parking lot, you could literally see the coasters at Busch Gardens. Less than a 3 minute drive to the park. Also, there are LOADS of places to eat near by as well as grocery stores, and a shopping mall. This hotel included a breakfast that was lovely and fresh and most of all, very tidy. The room itself was obviously a lesser hotel that was redone, but overall nice enough. It had a coffe maker, fridge, and a HUGE flatscreen tv. There was a couch in the room. Very comfortable and nice decor. We had two issues, one a large red stain on the carpet (looked like kool-aid or wine) and they checked someone else into our room after we were already in it, and the man walked in with his suitcase. Luckily, we got it all sorted out. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed at Hyatt Place for 3 nights and really liked it. Rooms set up very comfortably; there is separation between "living area" and "bedroom" which is very convenient. if one decides to stay up and watch TV and another wants to sleep, it is very easy to do because of wall separation. The decor is very nice too: simple, modern and minimalistic which is right up my alley. Staff is very friendly starting from desk to maintenance personnel. Very close to Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We had a nice stay. My wife and I traveled with our three children, ages 20, 18, and 15. We got 2 rooms. Our price with AAA was $89 per nite. The rooms are very big, with a king bed or two queens, along with a nice pull out sofa. There is a dest and refrig with a little bar area. Very nice. The AC was great, noisy like stated in other reviews.

We visited Busch Gardens, which is 1.5 miles away. Also try to visit Yuegling brewery, which is 1 block away. It is a great tour, with sampling afterward. The continental breakfast is adequet. Across the street is a Perkins, and First Look, which is a great place for breakfast if you want a more substantial breakfast. There is a mall 2 blocks away, which is nice.

I was told the area is not good to walk around after dark, but I did not see any problems. Overall, I will be glad to stay there again if I could get it under $100.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

My husband, two children (ages 10 & 12) and I stayed at the Hyatt Place Busch Gardens for two nights in June 2009. It was located only about a mile from Busch Gardens (less than a 5 minute drive), so it was very convenient! We had stayed in Hyatt (luxury) hotels in the past, but never stayed at a Hyatt Place before.

The hotel and the room itself was obviously recently updated with modern, earth-toned decor. The beds were very comfortable, and with two double beds plus a fold out sofa, my kids had their own beds, which was nice. The rooms have a mini refrigerator and feature a very large flat screen tv. That being said, there were a few negatives. First of all (and I had read this in some other reviews), the A/C unit (although it did cool well) was very noisy. I asked the woman at the front desk the next morning if all rooms had the old-style window units and I was told that they do, so apparently, there is no avoiding it. Also, the bathroom is tiny (the door barely clears the toilet) and the shower had very little water pressure. There was also no local guide in the hotel room, which I found kind of odd.

The complimentary continental breakfast was nothing special (bagels, english muffins, cereal, yogurt, pastries, juice & Starbucks coffee), but it was all fresh and adequate. You can also purchase hot breakfast items from the cafe in the lobby (which also offers salads, sandwiches, and snacks) for around $7 each. Oddly, the hotel didn’t seem to have any type of pantry or shop where you could purchase toiletries if you needed them, but there is a CVS very close by.

Overall, this hotel was a very convenient place to stay for a family going to Busch Gardens, and a pretty good value for the $. However, with the noisy A/C unit, I would be hesitant to stay there again or recommend this hotel unless the person was a very deep sleeper.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americus georgia usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Our "girlfriends getaway" in Tampa was a great success due, in part, to this hotel. Upon check-in, we were given adjoining rooms as requested. Rooms were clean and comfortably furnished, and there were no problems with the air conditioners as previous reviewers had indicated. The staff was exceptionally professional and friendly at all times. The complimentary breakfast was substantial; plenty of choices and no sense of being rushed to finish eating. All in all, this hotel proved to be a great value. Four women and no complaints! Now, that's a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel is located very near the BG entrance & not very far from USF. It is located right on some RR tracks, but no worries as it does not appear a train has run down that track in years. There is a Village Inn within short walking distance. Other establishments not to far away by car.

We stayed here to attend a concert at the Ford Amphitheatre. The place is like most of the other Hyatt Places we have stayed in before-rebranded and refurbished Amerisuites, so as long as you don't look to close the rooms are acceptable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping very good as well.

What was not good was the god awful A/C unit that turned off and on all night long. There is no feature to have the fan run full time and have the AC kick in when needed. So the thing runs, reaches a preset temp and then turns off. On top of that, it vibrated and hummed very loudly. Nothing could stop the noise, not even removing the front panel.

So during these periods of not running you get to hear the other hotel "noises", as well as the adjacent apartment complex right next door that houses college students. At 4:00 in the morning listening to them yell, scream and blow the car horn got a bit old.

The only other thing I found a problem with was the bathtub. Now, HP is famous for their small bathrooms and I don't have a problem with that. I would rather have the living area. Anyway, if you a large or elderly person, or slow on your feet, you better be damn careful in the bathtub as there is not a flat surface to stand on at all. It is like standing inside a bell. I had no problem with it but I could see where some people certainly would.

If you are looking for a place close to USF or BG and are not a light sleeper, this is the place for you.

As a note, we have stayed in HP's in Buckhead ATL and Fort Lauderdale and the AC units in those locations was not of the same type, nor were they noisy. Would highly recommend the Buckhead location if you are up that way.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Busch Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Busch Gardens

Address: 11408 North 30th Street, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Tampa
#30 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Busch Gardens 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Tampa/Busch Gardens, a preferred hotel of Busch Gardens, features 126 newly converted rooms. Each spacious guest room features a high-definition 42in. flat panel television that easily integrates with laptops and other electronic devices, refrigerator, coffee maker, plush Hyatt Grand Bed and a comfortable Cozy Corner with sleeper sofa. The Hyatt Place Gallery offers an innovative approach to select service dining. Complimentary continental breakfast buffet is inclusive every morning and features complimentary Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Busch Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Place Tampa
Hyatt Place Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa
Hyatt Busch Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Busch Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.